We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING pie!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helen's

Helen's
Ranked #18 of 64 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AMAZING pie!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I work at a hotel in bar harbor, and behind the scenes one unwritten rule is "never send guests off the island", but I break that rule, because whenever a guest asks me where to get good desserts, Helen's is the place I send them. When I eat there we order the strawberry pie, and it is absolutely to die for!!! the staff is very friendly as well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BAC21994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    74
    51
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I go here every year when we come downeast! My husband's steak was generous and good....my meal was not so good and I told my waitress.....she in turn (on her own) took the meal off of our check.....I told her not to that it was ok but she insisted. My husband and I will return as we do every year!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mainegirlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do Not Stop Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on June 27, 2013 on the recommendation of someone who had enjoyed the food about 10-years ago. The years have not been kind. The Maine shrimp were the size of cocktail shrimp and tasted as if they had been frozen and microwaved. The custard pie was rubbery and had very little flavor. The fish was tough. Another piece of pie looked like it had been dropped off the serving knife onto the plate. Service was OK but could not make up for terrible food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank airedale1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a comfy country kitchen-type place. It is clean, has good service and a nice selection of entrees from spaghetti and meatballs to fresh Maine lobster. Portions are large. We ended up bringing half of our meal home. Save room for dessert. The homemade pies are scrumptious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrajay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not as good as the one in Machias”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice building and nice waitstaff. Food is just so-so. Clam chowder is so thick your spoon stands up in it but little potato and little clams to be found. French onion soup was okay. Nothing was fabulous - the pies were good. Try the one in Machias.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momof2inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Helen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing