We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going home to mom's”
Review of Helen's

Helen's
Ranked #17 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Like going home to mom's”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are local's and love Helen's! It really is like going home to mom's - comfort food and way more. The desserts are awesome and the meals and desserts are plentiful. I will say this...laugh if you will... but Helen's is where the 'old' people go and if the old people go there you know the food is good and the prices are right. We always have a pleasant waitress and if you're lucky enough to get Michelle on a Sunday afternoon - then you have the one who sets the bar - she is fabulous!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anselsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    82
    52
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lobster stew to die for - best I've ever had. I don't care for cinnamon in blueberry pie but maybe some people do.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've been going there every year for a long time. Never had a bad meal or bad service experience. Awesome wings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“just so-so”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The ambience was diner. The food was just okay. Not as good as it should be to compete in that area. We've been there two or three times and it seems to slip a little each vist

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quarter in the Glass”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We invaded them with no reservations. I think we had 6/8 couples. The staff sat us down starting getting drink orders. I belive we had 3 or 4 of the wait staff for our group. This was after 7:30 pm, maybe they were trying to get us out quick but we never knew it. The staff joined right in singing and playing games with us. It was a good night.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Helen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing