We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blueberry pie is still awesome”
Review of Helen's

Helen's
Ranked #17 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
vermont
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“blueberry pie is still awesome”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The meal was okay, but once again, the blueberry pie was epic.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hornpout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    82
    52
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Family friendly. But don't expect much more.”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We found the place to be inviting and comfortable, but loud. A good place for families with small kids.

But the food was bland and not very savory.

Overall a good value for the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnv0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Served Dead Lobster!”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

There is little else to say. We have not been back for years, though I selected July 2010 for this review, since the last visit was the evening before the July 4th weekend. The lobster tasted "funny" - the "cook" sent out the message that he "wondered if the lobster was still alive"... are you kidding? I am relating this experience because it is horrendously inexcusable, especially so in Maine, and clearly the worst dining event we've ever had. We had a few visits before this experience, and personally I found the restaurant tettering on questionable dining room cleanliness, but my husband liked the fried food dishes.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and very good value”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The service was quick and the food good - and the children's menu wasn't just limited to the usual staples of fried chicken and hot dog.

No blueberry pie on the menu - however the apple pie was pretty good. The overall price was also really good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A decent meal in Maine”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

It was hard to find a decent meal for a not too high price. This place did the job. THERE ARE NO "GOOD MEAL PRICES" in the Bar Harbor area. All prices are high and you need to plan for it. The meal here was good and the place was clean. All around menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenGalOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Helen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing