We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai at is's freshest”
Review of Bangkok Restaurant

Bangkok Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 65 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Surry, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai at is's freshest”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very friendly, food is most excellent and fresh, Pad Thai w/ shrimp is awesome. Sushi Bar is great too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    23
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Worst Thai food we've ever had”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We love Thai food and stop at Thai restaurants wherever we see them- have been to some in out of the way places all over the US. This one looked good, but by far, the worst Massaman Curry we have ever had- we had tofu and canned pineapple chunks in the most bland flat tasting curry sauce we've ever had. No potatoes or peanuts, no spice or flavor to the dish. And no one ever asked us if we wanted more water, or how the food was. Really bad service. AT the end, we were given 3 MORE canned pineapple chunks with tooth picks in a dish for dessert with a stale fortune cookie (!). We won't go back there again- it wasn't inexpensive either.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice presentation of well prepared, fresh ingredients”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The food was very good and the restaurant is clean and nicely appointed. The service is excellent.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The food was excellent, the service great, would go back or recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldsdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Southeast Asian Food in Hancock County”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family loves the Bangkok and eats there regularly. There are other Asian restaurants in Ellsworth, but the Bangkok is the best. It's got the best prices and the best food, and the owners are the loveliest people. The Bangkok provided the food for a party we had and everyone raved about it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newfriendseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Restaurant also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Bangkok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing