We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pancakes have shrunk!”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #30 of 65 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pancakes have shrunk!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Breakfast was good but the pancakes were on the plate with the eggs and sausage with room to spare. They used to be on a plate of their own and seemed fluffier. Service was great, forgot his name but down back near the bathrooms. It was fairly slow at 9:15 a.m. and we had plenty of time to linger and we did. Bring back your awesome pancakes or train the cooks to be consistent! That is my favorite place to get awesome pancakes....Keep it that way!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneK473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    30
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Moons Left My Hammy”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Since they've closed all the Denny's in our area, it was a treat to visit old favorites and a struggle to decide which to choose. The winner was Moons Over My Hammy. The funny think is, they left off the ham on one of them. Turns out it's pretty good without ham. Our waiter was EXCEPTIONAL, even though he seemed to be alone in the dining room, we never wanted for anything, his personality was upbeat and when we let him know about the missing ham, he insisted on getting us a discount.


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 22Catbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Standard American Fare”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I toured New England for the two weeks September 23rd to 7th October 2013 to view the fall foliage. We travelled from Boston up to Bar Harbor, across to the White Mountains, down through Vermont, the Adirondacks and onto the Berkshire Hills. We selected our accommodation and eating places from Trip Adviser Reviews. We have reviewed each of the hotels, motels and bed and breakfast places that we stayed in and also many of the places we ate and drank in along the way. If you would like to view our reviews for the rest of the places on this trip click on my screen name on the left.
We ate at Dennys in Ellsworth as it was the nearest “restaurant” to the Acadia Sunrise Motel, where we were staying. Dennys is a typical American fast food diner establishment. We had a burger each which was accompanied with fries. It was cooked ok and the service was friendly and fast.
Good points. Quick friendly service, food was cooked ok.
Negative points. The restaurant was clean, but the carpet and furnishings had seen better days. The food was OK, but nothing special

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“smells like sour milk”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The first thing we noticed when we stepped in was the smell of sour milk permeating the air. You got used to it I guess. We were seated quickly as soon as the host figured out where the old timer regulars were going to seat themselves. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. Food was quick to come up. The breakfast chorizo burrito was good but would have liked to have had chorizo in it rAther than the bacon or to be told they didn't h a 've the chorizo...at any rate it was okay. Husband had grand slam which was fine too.

The place is looking a bit long in the tooth. Some of the booths were noticeably ripped and sagging..that was observed before being swallowed up by the cushion in the booth we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lsg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillipsburg, nj
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Out of this out of that”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Wanted something simple and well it was not. Everything we wanted they were out of. Mind you it was only 9pm. The chicken soup was good but cold. Coffee was just horrible. Waiter cared more about his friends and the food just stunk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cubanbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing