We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty view, tasty dinner”

Union River Lobster Pot
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elmer NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty view, tasty dinner”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We've seen the tv ads for The Lobster Pot many times when we're in Maine. Finally spent the day over on the coast and stopped there for dinner on our way home. We got an indoor table (a/c) by the windows overlooking the river(you can also eat on a big screened in porch). They have several 'fish of the day' specials. I had halibut Provencal which was delicious. My husband liked his dinner but after tasting mine he wished he'd ordered the same. Drinks were tasty but in my opinon expensive compared to other places. I'd definitely come back to The Lobster Pot, they know how to cook seafood without using breadcrumbs (so many places in Maine either put crumb topping on baked/broiled fish or deep fry everything). We got there during the week just about when they opened for dinner and had no wait, but I can see this place jammed on a weekend night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    131
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The wait was long but worthwhile. The seafood was excellent, service was timely, and the view of the river nice. Very friendly staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2millionandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and a nice setting”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were in town on business and had a vegan dining with us. Always a challenge when at a lobster pound. The lobster was great and they had enough side dishes to make our vegan diner happy. Salads were small but very fresh. The lobster tail and steak I had were delicious. You can eat inside in air conditioned comfort or outside on the porch which has a great view of the River. It was screened in, so no bugs to bother us. This is a very busy place so I would suggest reservations.. We requested a dinner size salad for our vegan diner and they were more than helpful. Not really a protein source for our vegan diner but as I said we kind of expected that. Perhaps adding some hummus or something to the menu would be helpful.. Reasonable prices too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I found my 'Lobster Pot' at the end of the rainbow!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We travel to Ellsworth/MDI every summer and just discovered this 'pot of gold!' Quaint, charming and a good bang for the buck. Portions are plentiful and service was top notch. We will be back next August! Till then I'll be dreaming of that succulent lobster tail . . .

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol Connecticut USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good, fun, reasonable price.”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

New friend Mary from Ellsworth recommended this place while vacationing in the area. Big crowd, they use a phone ap to call you when your table is ready so you can go and walk around the cute town. Sat out on the screened in deck with a nice view of the river, great service and good good. They know how to handle a crowd. Save room for the pie. Jake our waiter was great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickyRight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union River Lobster Pot also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Union River Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing