We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union River Lobster Pot

Union River Lobster Pot
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
236 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

A family and friends visit of seven people on a Saturday afternoon. We arrived close to open at 4:30 pm and were treated like family. All smiles and very good service even a quick table wave from Chef Brian.
The food was terrific with a strong reference to their specialty cedar plank salmon and a surprise; steak with chimichurri. Watching the river, an eagle fishing, and a well air-conditioned room was a wonderful respite on a very hot day.
Another special touch was the warm loaves of bread and butter. Our server was solid and everyone left very full and happy.
We will make the 50 minute drive again for this experience, do wish they were open for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    131
    43
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DownEast and Acadia Maine, Maine
2 reviews
“Pricy but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was a fun place for seafood,a bit pricy but good food and friendly service! We might come back again next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownEast and Acadia Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Although Lobster is in the name, all the seafood is top notch. Every day they have a chalkboard listing the fresh fish, and the menu describes 3 or 4 styles of preparation to choose from. After your seafood, the Maine blueberry pie is to die for! We have friends who go there for that alone. Too bad, but not open for lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
334 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner while on vacation. My wife and I had boiled lobsters for dinner. They were excellent. I had fries as a side and she had a baked potato. My fries were average at best but she said that her baked was very good. We ate on their screened porch overlooking the river. The ambience was excellent. Service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Odarkthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the super fresh seafood. I got to watch the seafood monger pull live lobsters out of the tank and steam them to order. The view of the river added ambience to our dinner and the Creme Brûlée we had for dessert was perfect. I did feel like the dining room could have used an extra server.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wahootoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union River Lobster Pot also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Union River Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing