We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soup and tapas make a meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cleonice Mediterranean Bistro - CLOSED

Cleonice Mediterranean Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between State and Store St
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Soup and tapas make a meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pretty extensive menu, nice wine list. We're light eaters, so our dinner of tomato basil soup (delicious), tapas of artichoke bruschetta (also delicious) and beets with cheese on top (too much garlic) was plenty. Server seemed dismayed that we weren't ordering more, but then the place was only half full on a Friday night, so she should have been grateful she had anyone at our table. Bill came to about $30, including wine for the wife.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 46Elizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coker Creek, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not So Hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My visit to this restaurant was not what I had in mind. The food was expensive, the service was slow, and the wait staff unfriendly. At the end of the meal, we had to wait about 20 minutes to get our check, and the take-home dessert was forgotten (paid for, but forgotten). For the money, just not worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swans Island, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luscious food, no ego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Cleonice is the place to go if you're in Ellsworth and want a delicious meal made with the best, local ingredients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ordinary and expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I think the original owner of Cleonice when it was at its old location is no longer involved and this is evident in the sporadic traces of the old menu in the new place. It's moderately expensive for what it is but the worst feature was the so called tapas which bears not the slightest resemblance to anything I've ever eaten in Europe and was overpriced to boot.

Try Finns - cheaper, better and devoid of the tiresome pretension of some of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary H, Owner at Cleonice Mediterranean Bistro, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
So sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Cleonice. We do try to offer Tapas and Meze, so small plates from around the Mediterranean Rim, not always strictly Spanish Tapas.

We are the same owners and management as when we were down the street in the Lucchini Building. The business has not changed hands, just the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Simply put, this is one of the coolest cafes or bistros I have ever been in - great food prepared with imagination and flair and incredible flavor, excellent service, and just a really cool atmosphere, very friendly too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNealsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary H, Owner at Cleonice Mediterranean Bistro, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleonice Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing