We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The end of what used to be a great place to eat!”
Review of Riverside Cafe

Riverside Cafe
Ranked #12 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Franklin, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The end of what used to be a great place to eat!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Only 4 tables occupied during my visit. The home fries were burned (which even one of the waitresses commented on as really smelling bad). They still served them. I ordered a bacon, mushroom and Cheddar omelet. It came out with cold raw mushrooms and the cheddar was just thrown in an not melted. Plus they put in raw chopped onions which I never ordered. I hate to say it, being a customer for over 20 years, but I'm never going back again. This was the fourth time in a row I have had a bad meal.The new owners obviously don't know how to run and hire competent employees.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Felixcocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    94
    33
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riverside best breakfast in ellsworth maine”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I go to river side twice monthly and they all are so friendly even the kitchen staff is so nice saw a kitchen person helping and old lady in a wheel chair so her husband wouldnt have to do it so sweet but the food is to die for their sunday brunch always has a great variety of food they are recently serving some gluten free products they have cheesecake brownies gluten free that are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I recommend riverside to everyone only thing i wish is it was open later on sundays so i could come in after church

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“surprise sandwich”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Keep going back here and this time had a nice surprise!.....I don't eat meat and have missed rubens but they had a fresh haddock ruben that was great! Never disappointed with food, service or variety of choices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
583 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A bit dissappointed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had heard this was a great spot so we took a group of six to dinner there. The food was okay, but not my husband and I agreed it was not top-notch. For the price I expected a bit better. They did have a good variety of options though. Nice jazz trio playing made it fun. Wait staff could have done a lot better. Seemed like we were and afterthought. Had to practically tackle the waitress to get a beverage refill. No "how is everything", waters, etc. Casual surroundings. I would be willing to give it another try...perhaps breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stopped here from the campground on our way back from Nova Scotia. Old building but great food. Servers were great and food came out quickly. Good variety of breakfast fare. Would recommend them to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Cafe also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing