We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just meehghgh.......”
Review of Mainely Meat on Main - CLOSED

Mainely Meat on Main
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just meehghgh.......”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

One horse trick..... If you want over-seasoned/salted meat you will be in heaven. Hey..... Some like it that way. They rely heavily on the fact that they are the only meat in town. Service is sub par and the price is a bit high. The beer is ice cold.... So that is a big plus.....

Helpful?
Thank earthfood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The BEST Pulled Pork”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I love BBQ food. Friends of ours from camp invited us out one night for dinner. We were blown away by how good the food tasted. The ultimate compliment is when my sister and brother in law came up for a visit from New York . I had told them how good Mainely Meats was. We got take out and brought it back to camp. They said it was the BEST pulled pork they ever had. We also love the ribs and cornbread. We will be back again when camp season begins.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good barbecue but where's the brisket”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable location. There is a great bar and TVs for watching sports if you want to. We've been here several times and we've had the same waitress who is super! But here's the rub: (no pun intended). I have been to barbecue places in St. Louis, Oklahoma City, Fort Worth & Memphis to mention a few. The headliners in each one of these places are brisket and baby back ribs. The lack of both of these at mainly meats is what keeps it from being excellent. I hope other trip advisor users who agree will point this out, and take them from being good to great!

Helpful?
Thank Tanker363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Variety, Quantity & High Quality- It's all here!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Well, variety as in all things typically found at a BBQ/Smokehouse.

I waited until my second visit to Mainely Meat to post a review- the first trip was excellent, and wanted to await the chance for a second visit. Wanted to be sure.

On both occasions there were four in our party; once for lunch and once for dinner. Both time we ordered the Max Plate, an enormous platter containing a full rack of smoked baby back ribs, a pile of pulled pork, 4 smoked sausages, 4 smoke chicken thighs, a pot of baked beans, with yes, more sausage therin. What didn't fit on the platter were the bowls of excellent cole slaw and potato salad.

All of the meats were smoked and cooked to perfection. All of the sides were delicious as well.

And the beer was good & cold.

If you like this kind of fare, make the trip to Ellsworth- this food is well worth the incredibly reasonable cost. One of the best BBQ restaurants in Maine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mainely Meat on Main Could Change a Vegetarian's Mind”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were looking for a quick bite and stopped in. What a great surprise! Who would have though we'd find some of the best bbq in Maine! They have a smokehouse right behind the restaurant. We first tried the sampler and a tray of quesadillas. Very tasty! The pulled pork added a nice flavor to the quesas. The sampler had chicken, ribs, sausage, pulled pork & corn bread. Tasty. Our favorite was the ribs. We returned 2dys later and had the whole rack of ribs each. That portion of the ribs gave us a 2nd meal each. As we traveled during the week, we saw another "Mainely Meat" in another town. Not sure if it's a chain or same owner. We know the location in Ellsworth has great food & that's where we'd return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsVMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainely Meat on Main also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing