We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good bbq”
Review of Mainely Meat on Main - CLOSED

Mainely Meat on Main
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty good bbq”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on Memorial Day on our way to Acadia National Park. Being from Alabama, we were a little nervous to try bbq so far from home since we take it very seriously. But we had been eating a lot of shellfish and wanted something different, so we stopped in. Very good decision. We enjoyed really good pork, ribs, chicken, and sausage. There are two sauce choices on the tables--a maple, sweet sauce and the other is more buffalo-style. I enjoyed my sandwich with both of them, and I would recommend it. The only thing I found kind of strange is that my sandwich came on toast, rather than a bun. It tasted fine; it was just a little different from the norm. Our server was very attentive and friendly. She did tell us that the guy who started this place is from North Carolina, so his bbq knowledge is no joke. I would definitely stop in again when I'm in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bama78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's made out of meat”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Turn away fair friend vegetarian. Cast a cold eye On life, on death. Horseman, pass by! This is about meat for meat eaters. Barbequearians will know what to do here. Also Beerarians will be happy to drink the delicious nectars found within. This eatery location is within the Atlantic Brewing Company in the dark woods on Knox Road.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mylonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST Barbeque”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I seen the sign directing us to the partially hidden Mainely Meats. We almost didn't go because it seemed to be "out of the way" and it was one of those nights where we wanted to eat and get it done. I cannot express to you enough the satisfaction found with this pleasantly decor-ed, family restaurant. We ordered the "The Max Plate", which is loaded with sausage, ribs, chicken thighs, and pulled pork (everything)! The food was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. Your food has that smoky cooked over an open fire taste and tender. The pulled pork is superb and the order comes with potato salad, coleslaw, beans, and the most delicious corm bread EVER! The decorations and souvenirs you find help occupy time as you wait for your meal. The hostess/waitress was extremely welcoming, and an excellent waitress as well. You MUST go and get full with satisfaction!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephanieBee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best deal in Ellsworth!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I love Mainely meats! The staff is so friendly an the food is amazing. Not to mention it's a total bargain! You get huge portions at a low price. The decor is super cool to look at, and they always do a great job decorating for holidays! You would be crazy not to try it :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittygirl8792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very disappointed. Have been visiting their multiple locations since 2005. Had two bad experiences with customer service at the Main location, but still wanted to give them another shot. The owner was incredibly curt with us. The most recent experience involved a Deal Chicken offer that we were going to use for a late crowd. After calling earlier in the week to confirm that we could indeed use the offer, they happily agreed, then went back on it the day we called in the order. We were obviously confused and asked why we had been told we could use the offer a few days prior. We could hear the owner yelling in the background. The food here has always been consistently good, but their customer service explains why they almost went under this past year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kablueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainely Meat on Main also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing