We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE Mainly Meat!”
Review of Mainely Meat on Main - CLOSED

Mainely Meat on Main
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I LOVE Mainly Meat!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I don't love the name necessarily, but the food is great! I always have the pulled pork and it is simply wonderful! They do the real slow cooking thing...and I would say the staff love what they do and it shows. The owner will often walk around and say hello. There is some really cool decor - some of the tables are made from old doors (with glass on top and old pictures under the glass). I go here as often as I can get my boyfriend to go (we like many places in Ellsworth)!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anselsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the area”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Eaten there twice and both times the food was great. First trip I had a steak done to perfection, hubby had delicious ribs. The sides of potato salad (not so good), coleslaw(yummy) and baked beans (delicious but lukewarm) took the place of french fries. This trip I had the chicken wings which were some of the best I have ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pegclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here and loved it. We split the $14 sampler which featured ribs, pulled pork, chicken, and sausage with a side of cole slaw and baked beans. Truthfully, all the components on the dish were very good to excellent which surprised us. Nice, clean interior (and bathrooms). We went out of our way to tell the chef/owner that we loved it and would be coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good beef place”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to grab a good piece of meat, ribs, chili, buffalo wings or pulled pork. Sides are good too. I will eat here again for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 35yearsMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Restaurant !”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went for a birthday party . Had a great time . Food was scrumptious and the waitstaff was wonderful. Would definately recommend to anyone who loves a great bbq ! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gina1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainely Meat on Main also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing