We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience”
Review of Shinbashi

Shinbashi
Ranked #19 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The old Green Tree Restaurant - same owners - built a beautiful upscale restaurant in the center of Ellsworth. Excellent - same recipes says Catherine -half of husband & wife team.
Deer Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My Husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary this year and because he knows I love this restaurant, he took me to Shinbashi for dinner!! We had a wonderful meal and the atmosphere is splendid!!! Loved the seating and the service is great!!! The food is yummy and not typical Chinese food!! It is more authentic Chinese food with amazing flavors and different choices !!! The green tea is lovely!! Our server was very prompt and friendly!!! Really enjoyed our evening!!! Can't wait to go again!!! Thanks you to everyone who made our night so special!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    68
    29
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lots of varieties”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The menu looked a bit confusing to start with. The menu included Japanese, spicy Chinese (Szechuan and Hunan), Vietnamese and Thai just to name a few.

We ordered sashimi and sushi, Hunan beef and pineapple fried rice. Pineapple fried rice is usually light yellow in colour. They made it brown and the taste of Chinese sausage was all over the dish. Except for the pineapple fried rice, the other food was average to above average.

Our server was courteous and friendly, but he was not very knowledgeable about the food. He did not understand what tobiko was and thought it was salmon roe.

Sashimi and sushi were pricey. The other dishes were reasonably priced, especially good in a tourist area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality & Variety”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

As fitting to the area, they offer a variety if amazing lobster rolls. Sooo good along with all of your favorite sushi and other popular but unique Asian dishes. The service was wonderful. The place is beautiful and extremely clean. I highly recommend this place and will be stopping by any chance I get!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Atmosphere, Food, Service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The restaurant is immaculate and not the typical red and gold ornate oriental food place. Lovely woods and pastel lighting set a very relaxing atmosphere. The service was friendly and timely. The food was presented in square bowls that were sectioned to keep food separated and fresh. It came in generous portions and was hot and tasty to the table.
I am definitely going back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just loved this place!! Great service, great food! I am not very big on Asian food but have been totally swayed by the food here. I also loved the decor, everything was so clean and pretty.
Another thing was how friendly everyone was.Smiles all around! Joy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joy2u1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinbashi also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Shinbashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing