We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to love just being on a train!”

Downeast Scenic Railroad
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Ellsworth
Attraction details
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You have to love just being on a train!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Yes this is not a train ride to anywhere or see anything. It is a ride on a train to feel the train move sway and bump along. that is all. I love riding the caboose way above the tracks.This ride may disappoint some but not me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank slarson127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    14
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mainly for Kids”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you have kids under 6 years old the will love this. "Engineers" are friendly and play it up to the kids. Otherwise, the other reviews give you all the negative details...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Save your $15.00!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I really hate to be negative but this train ride was the most epic misrepresentation of information given on their website ever. Lame! SLOW!. Backward. Forward. Horn. Stop. Horn. Horn. Stop. Stop. Backward . Forward. If you would like a 5 minute view of Ellsworth High School twice, both coming and going, this is the trip for you! The "scenic" is when you get to go through a bog. Big whoop. I did see a bird's nest and a beaver hut. The rest is mostly urban crap. They do serve "snacks" and bottled water, which for the price of the ride should be complimentary, but are not. Really, they should pay YOU to ride! If you are a railroad afficionado you will get off on the crew's passion, specifically one women's locomotive earrings and authentic dress. Oh, and did I mention the horrific diesel fumes? I did not. Enough said about that I guess. There were 6 of us friends aboard and we had a hour and a half laugh about this "adventure." We made memories! We will laugh about this until we die.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank skeelovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth time AND money”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

If you're a train enthusiast this is well worth your time and money because: you get to see an engine shift from one end to the other, but even better, you get to be on a train switch direction using a wye. You don't see that except on a model railroad. AND you get to see huge bird (eagle or osprey) nests in trees and power line poles. The people are extremely friendly. Only drawback is the engines are diesel-electrics and not steam, but not bad for $15. and an hour and a half of your time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in NH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must for toddler train enthusiasts”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this delightful attraction by accident! The train has been restored and is operated by volunteers. Although a short ride we learned so much! The volunteers are clearly passionate about rail travel and have so much to offer. My 4 year old granddaughter enjoyed the ride as much as we did.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KerininNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downeast Scenic Railroad also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Downeast Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing