We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of sheer principle” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Out of sheer principle”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were in Rockland Maine when my husband became ill (proof available) and we had to head back down to Boston. I called this Hampton to cancel 24 hours prior to our check in and was told "we don't have a cancellation policy". I was taken back at first, explained our circumstances and was told we could not cancel. I called Mastercard and was told the charge had already been put through.
We normally stay at midrange hotels (Hyatt, Westin) who I have always received excellent customer service from. This experience with Hampton is simply unacceptable.
It was a cash grab on their part.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MurphyS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our cancellation policy did not meet your needs in this situation and apologize for any inconvenience or hassle you encountered. Your comments will help us to improve our policies and better serve our guests moving forward. We hope you will consider staying at our hotel if you return to our area in the future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Rick Savageau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    189
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
204
277
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, CT. USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went up for a wedding. Stayed a couple nights. Hotel was clean, rooms were nice, quiet, comfy. Only negative was that there was no refrigerator in the rooms. That's important to me so may look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MWA-Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very reasonable distance and time from Acada. Location provided other choices for dinning. Hotel is a resonable distance from the highway so no road noise was heard. Staff was very friendly. If I return to the area I would again stay at this Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
559 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here 3 days and it was very good for what we were looking for. It was Clean and very convenient. The staff was very polite and helpful. We planned to go to Arcadia one day and then south on US 1, so Ellsworth was a good location for both. It was a very good value for the quality of the facility. We didn't eat breakfast as we wanted to eat at some local places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyrod929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Clean, clean, clean. The hotel felt brand new. The rooms were spacious and clean. The duvets are laundered for each guest. Breakfast was great. Full laundry room use available. Great staff. Not as close as I thought to Acadia, but the quality of the hotel made the 20 mile trip worth it to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank LoungeReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I thought the room was nice. It was very large as far as a hotel room goes, but I thought it was a little bit on the expensive side. I had stayed at competitors hotels in other areas earlier in my trip and did not pay nearly as much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was cheerful and fresh with a very comfortable bed and nice work desk. The location was quiet, although not quite as close to the town of Bar Harbor as I might have wanted. Free breakfast the hotel was not extravagant but a nice perk when traveling alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing