We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Great Staff/Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Newer hotel with very clean and comfy rooms. Great location to Bar Harbor but not too close (40 min). Very friendly staff. Nice continental breakfast to start the day. Will stay again. Don't miss this gem of a hotel if you go to Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 764 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful Hampton Inn. The hotel is spotless and in a good location- not too far from Acadia and Bar Harbor-very close to a grocery store, Wal-Mart, and restaurants. Linda, the breakfast room attendant was friendly and genuine.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love the consistency of our visits to Hampton Inn properties. The hotel was about 20 miles from Bar Harbor, but it was worth the drive. The location was convenient to restaurants, a grocery store, and Walgreens. We really enjoyed the Riverside Café in Ellsworth and being out of the busy Bar Harbor area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for five nights. We were first welcomed by friendly staff on check in. The service/front desk staff were exceptional throughout our stay.

The rooms were clean and functional. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and nice. The free breakfast buffet was...well, a free breakfast buffet-it is not gourmet but it is more than adequate with cereal, fruit, waffle, eggs, and breakfast meat among others.

During breakfast, there is a lady who goes table to table offering customers mints. I do not know if they get many complaints about customers with bad breath, but it is somewhat odd. Those people at Hampton want to make sure everyone gets mints. Our group did find it mildly entertaining. The mint lady was quite friendly as was all the staff.

There is only one elevator for this three story hotel. this is inadequate. There can be 'traffic jams' at the elevator. And to make things worse, the elevator is slow. The exits steps are located far from the elevator so this is not a convenient option.

The fitness center has a couple of treadmills, a bench, and some dumbells. I have certainly seen better. It was however clean.

We did not use the indoor pool. We tried to use the hot tub, but there was some weird orange debris/foam on the surface. We decided not to test our luck.


Regarding the location, it is right across from a stripmall that has a grocery store. There is not much to do within the immediate area. The downtown Ellsworth area is about a 20 minute walk (three minute drive). If you are planning to spend much time in Bar Harbor, be warned as this hotel is about a 40 minute drive. If your goal is Bar Harbor, I would recommend staying closer. We went to Bar Harbor/Acadia everyday. I feel like we spent a good portion of vacation in the car. I personally think it is too far if your goal is Acadia/Bar Harbor. Due to the location, I would not stay here again. That being said, if you don't mind driving or have things to do in Ellsworth, you do get a good value by staying here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catchyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I found the place great overall, great breakfast as to be expected with the Hampton line, clean and nice rooms, Internet worked well, pool looked nice even though we didn't go in, parking lot was hot (need covered parking :), close to services but a good drive to Acadia which we wanted to see, the 1 elevator was a problem and didn't see stairs close by, a little expensive on what we are getting for value

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. There was no noise. Didn't eat breakfast but it looked good. The breakfast hostess was going around greeting people, offering little box of mints for the road and giving ideas for things to see and do. A very nice stay, close to the Acadia Park and Bar Harbor scene without the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great staff.... Very clean and the staff is extremely helpful! Continental breakfast in the AM that is basic but good! Hampton Inn has a Walgreens within walking distance which is convenient! I will definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.2 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
675 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
13.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range: $125 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing