We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
CO, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Clean and comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the outsides were clean. Room was quiet, and the tub and sink worked well and the water was hot Only issues the food could be be done better the yogurts were warm a few times and the oatmeal was cold and thick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    162
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
187
224
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moodus, CT, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our family enjoyed our short stay at this hotel very much! The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially the ladies in the breakfast area. The rooms were clean and comfortable and really nice looking! We we very pleased and will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 days and nights at the Hampton Inn at Ellsworth, ME. We were quickly checked into our large room which was nicely furnished and very clean. Our room had a nice sized bathroom with enough towels and toiletries. There was a ample refrigerator and micro wave in the room. During the day while we were enjoying the activities of the area, the room was cleaned, towels replaced and our king-sized bed made. We had our complimentary breakfast each morning during our stay where the staff was efficient and friendly, the food was good and plentiful, and the dining room was clean and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've stayed at this location a few times now and, honestly, it looks as new today as it did the first time I stayed. The workmanship in the rooms at this location should be used as a construction model for all hotels of the brand. Beyond the details the usual amenities are equally good for the vacationer or business traveler (I've been to this location for business and returned for a vacation - twice): the TV quality, A/C, bed comfort, and lack of noise are all outstanding. Happily this hotel also has windows that open - something lacking in most other hotels of it's type (they don't open much, but far enough to let in some awesome Maine air). Ellsworth lacks most of the standard nationwide brand restaurant chains but there are plenty of local places to choose from. Acadia and Bar Harbor are 20-30 minutes away depending on traffic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGordon311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently became Hilton Honors members because of our experience at a couple of Hampton Inns. This property in Ellsworth lived up to our expectations and more. The room, the bed, the lobby, the elevator--everything--was spotless. In addition, the staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. While we were headed to Canada and only stayed here one night, we would certainly stay here again. It is in a wonderful location as a launching point to explore Mt. Desert Island (Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, etc.) and to visit Schoodic Point (where a smaller portion of Acadia National Park is located). Stores and restaurants are close by. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. We were traveling in May, before Memorial Day, and got a room when we did not have a reservation. If we were planning a trip to this area, we would make a reservation to ensure having a room, as this part of the Maine coast is a prime destination for summer tourists and Mainers alike.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwayswanttowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer City, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here 2 days last week. It was VERY clean and we loved everything about our stay. It was clean, clean, clean! The breakfast was VERY VERY good. It's only a short trip to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor. It's only a few blocks away from Wal-Mart and other shopping is close by. It was a PERFECT stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina115_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

everything was exceptional but the tile floor in the foyer and bathroom. With the slightest moisture it was like being on ice. very helpful and friendly staff at front desk and breakfast. would recommend this location highly to all. pool and hot tub very relaxing. not exactly a 5 star breakfast but adequate to get you going. very clean and comfortable. coffee was very good. nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnandlaura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing