We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomdations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomdations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in Maine. New, clean and very well appointed. The staff was excellent at helping with any questions we had. The breakfast bar in the morning was well appointed with the usual fare plus waffles. The pool and the jacuzzi were very nice too..

Room Tip: perfect place to stay while in Maine. Nice launching point to Bar Harbor, Northern Coastal Maine, D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    162
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
187
224
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My fiance and I spent a night here during our weekend trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The hotel is along a stretch of commercial road in Ellsworth. There are chain restaurants, super markets, stores surrounding the area, but the Hampton is set back from the road.
The staff at the hotel was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. The rooms are spacious, clean and seem relatively new. The bathrooms are also very clean.
Breakfast was typical for a Hampton, but very nice to enjoy in front of the fire.

The hotel is about 30 minutes from Acadia.

If you want to book a hotel and don't like surprises, then this Hampton is for you. You'll get the Hampton/Hilton service, a clean room, friendly staff and a hot breakfast. There are a lot of hotels in this area, but we didn't want to take our chances and end up somewhere dirty and old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubec, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very comfortable facilities located at the gateway to Acadia. Rooms are very nicely appointed and the bedding is clean and inviting. Staff is fun and engaging and provides a great introduction to the Area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanP0int
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We relied on Trip Advisor to find a hotel when we visited Ellsworth, ME, in November 2012. We were not disappointed with our selection (based on comments from Trip Advisor). The hotel is fairly new and was extremely clean. The room setup was extremely comfortable with lots of room in the bedroom and a spacious, clean bathroom. We enjoyed our brief stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again as our first preference. The people working the front desk were friendly and snce we missed their breakfast, they suggested a great place to eat breakfast - Martha's Diner - superb. Thanks to Trip Advisor - we had a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in a room with a king-sized bed - room was very spacious as was the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ping54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for a visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia NP. Very friendly front desk staff and smooth quick check in. Room was clean, beds were OK (a bit hard), duvets lumpy...but these are the standard items at most all Hamptons (there are a few that have slightly upgraded beds/bedding). But cleanliness in a hotel room tops any dislike of the bedding. Breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn/Suites complimentary fare. Overall a good stay, good location without having to pay the even higher prices right in Bar Harbor (it is a bit of a drive though), friendly staff and would recommend this location for visits to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at in all our years of traveling. Nothing really unique about it but it was extremely clean, good breakfast and very comfortable. Management was not overly friendly but proffesional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a two queen bed room. Very clean and bed are great with comfy duvets. Front desk staff checked us in early and was very caring towards my mother. The only negative thing (no fault of the hotel) is the next door room had kids running up and down the hall. "Why can't parents control their kids".

Not a long drive from Bangor for shopping. Denny's restaurant up the street. Well light parking lot. Didn't need to worry about car. I could see it from our window.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing