We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Curacao
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not good value for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is average but popular because there were not many name brand hotels to choose from in this area. We had a small room with a lumpy king bed. Bathroom had shower no bathtub. The only elevator stopped working when we were there. Free breakfast and Wifi. We paid the full retail price for the room since it was the high season for leaf peeping. We may try a mom and pop motel or cottage in the area next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SofiaReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you did not find your bed comfortable. We know how important a good night's rest is while traveling and regret this was not your experience with us. Please forgive our technical difficulty with our elevator, we know this was an inconvenience and we have since fixed the issue. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travel brings you back to the area.

Thank you,
Rick Savageau
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    170
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
192
245
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean. Good breakfast. Nice pool and whirlpool. Enjoyed my stay very much.Friendly staff. Even provide cookies in the late afternoon. Close to Acadia national park. Plan to eat dinner while you are out for the day because there is really no good place for dinner. Consider fast food it's your best bet for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doingitright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a good clean, relatively inexpensive hotel. We scheduled a last minute vacation at Bar Harbor, and all the good hotels closer to Acadia National Park were taken. The rooms were clean, and the staff accommodating. The hotel is right beside a Walgreen's, and close to a Super Walmart and about 40-60 minutes from the Acadia sites. The LL Bean outlet store is nearby. There were great Lobster places around.
The breakfast was okay, although I think they could have had more variety. There was also only one waffle maker, and the lines could become quite long. There were cookies for the kids in the lobby, which they loved! The pool was clean, and not crowded.

Overall, it is a good alternative hotel, but when we return to Acadia, we will probably book a hotel closer to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Great place. Good location. Very, very clean.
Always know what your going to get when you stay at Hampton Inn. Coffee is very good as always. Great fresh baked cookies in the evening. Beds are comfortable. They look and feels new. Room was very clean answer fresh feeling when you walk in. I'll let you know how the free breakfast is tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseToth-Hidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

nice and clean one of the best in the area and only 20 mins from bar harbor will come back here. its very nice. give it a try you will like it. great place to stay. the king bed is best. most good restaurants are on the way to or in bar harbor.

Room Tip: good and close to bar harbor and a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgetfoodnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel with my parents and friends. We reserved 3 king size rooms which were ready upon our arrival at 4:00 PM in the afternoon. The hotel staff was very warm and friendly upon arrival. The hotel grounds are very well manicured and when you step into the lobby its very nicely decorated. They had fresh coffee and baked cookies for guest arrival. Each of our 3 rooms was very clean and comfortable. The pillows are very nice at this hotel as they appear to be queen size versus the normal small standard pillows you find in most hotels.

Each room has a small refrigerator to keep your beverages cold for your visit. The TV is a 32" flat screen. My only complaint was given the size of the room they should either place the TV closer to the bed and sitting chair or put a larger screen TV. Its not easily viewed when laying in bed or sitting in the chair.

The hot breakfast was very nice and great selection of hot foods along with cereal and pastries.

If I travel back to this area I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Super clean property. Carol at the front dest was fantastic! All staff were great. My only complaint is that I couldn't get housekeeping to collect the tips we left them for three days. Best housekeeping staff ever...I mean ever! Seven Stars! Not only were they competent, friendly and efficient they seemed really happy doing their jobs...such a rarity these days. Kudos to this management team...and all...a very well run hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drzagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing