We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for your vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for your vacation”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed with my family of thre at this hotel for five nights while visiting Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor (7/21-7/25/11).
Location- Conveniently located between Bangor and Arcadia Park/Bar Harbor. Approx. 45minutes to Bangor, 25-30minutes to Arcadia Park/Bar Harbor. Walgreen store just across the hotel's parking lot. A basic stripmall with grocery store, small movie theater, some fast foods restaurants .. are just across the street. Plenty of restaurants -very good lobster specilaized, american asian, american foods .. are within driving distance (5-10)minutes.
The hotel itself-Very new, clean, roomy, with good service hotel. The staff is always friendly and available for help. The beds, matresses, bed cover, pillows ... are of good quality, very soft on your skin. The bathroom is very roomy, clean. The bathtub is clean. Water pressure is exellent. There are more then enough bathtub accessories (towels, soap ...). Room service is good. Complementary breafast (6-10AM) provides standard but of good quality foods (eggs, muffins, fruits ...). The checkout process is simple and fast; and much more important- the receipt is correct!!. There are plenty of parking spaces too. The elevator - however- is on the slow side; and there is only one elevator! Ah, and the rate - it is definiteky rather on the high side, but I think, this is the best and still affordable hotel for this area (compared to the extremely expensive hotels, resorts in Bar Harbor).


All in all, i will definitely stay at this hotel again if I ever come back to this area.

Room Tip: GoT good rate with AAA rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    195
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
214
284
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caribou, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Beds were amazing, a lot of room in the 2 queen room. Bathrooms were great and clean.

Breakfast had lots of options for all types of people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkirae631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This chain hotel was a pleasant surprise. Fireplace warmed us on on the chilly morning while we ate breakfast in the updated breakfast area. Attentive staff, fresh beds and cleanliness one now expects from Hampton.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfdivaVenice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This relatively new hotel is conveniently located at the junction of routes 1 and 1A in Ellsworth. The facility is new so it is very clean and up to date. Rooms are comfortable and include a desk & sitting chair. Beds are comfortable. Coffee makers in room (refrigerators are not standard). The hotel has a small fitness room, a whirlpool and a salt water indoor pool. Breakfast is included and on each day that we were there included one type of omelet, one type of sausage, a waffle station, assorted muffins, bagels, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Great if you just want to grab a quick bite and then be on your way for the day. Complimentary coffee and tea is always available in the lobby and often you'll find warm cookies in the same area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacher_Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is our second year staying here place is super clean and the staff very caring and friendly especially LINDA THE "MINT" LADY she makes you feel at home super super nice lady for those of you who don't know who she is she is the very friendly face that you see in the morning at breakfast going around and chatting with everyone and making sure there stay was satisfactory and if you are looking for a place to visit very knowledgable of the area her husband also works there in the kitchen cudo to you well nice to have seen you again ! Diane and Joe

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank droberge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel was built not long ago and still has that clean, new look. It even still has a new "just constructed" smell about it. The staff was helpful, supplying us with maps and directions and suggestions.

The room had everything I could need: a microwave, a flatscreen tv, a fridge, alarm clock, safe, coffeemaker, wi-fi, and even a laptop pillow! The bed is super comfortable, but I'd have to agree with another reviewer that the AC was very loud and so was the fridge. It's a tricky balance with the sleep quality: comfy bed vs. loud appliances. Over time, I was able to tune out the humming as white noise so it worked for me.

The thing about the location is that it's quite a drive to Acadia and Bar Harbor (twenty minutes or so). It can be tiring to commute back and forth day after day. There aren't many good restaurants nearby in Ellsworth but there are plenty of supermarkets if you're on a budget. One last tip: the public bathrooms are located inside the pool room and not in an obvious place in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

After a long search for hotels, we found a room at the Hampton Inn in Ellsworth for our weekend to Acadia National Park. While the rooms were brand new and clean, the air conditioner in the room was noisy and woke us up numerous times throughout the night. The free breakfast in the morning was good and the coffee & tea bar is always open over the course of the day, sometimes with snacks (we missed out on the cookies).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellswort
Holiday Inn Ellswort
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
614 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing