We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal in a shiny, new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel was built not long ago and still has that clean, new look. It even still has a new "just constructed" smell about it. The staff was helpful, supplying us with maps and directions and suggestions.

The room had everything I could need: a microwave, a flatscreen tv, a fridge, alarm clock, safe, coffeemaker, wi-fi, and even a laptop pillow! The bed is super comfortable, but I'd have to agree with another reviewer that the AC was very loud and so was the fridge. It's a tricky balance with the sleep quality: comfy bed vs. loud appliances. Over time, I was able to tune out the humming as white noise so it worked for me.

The thing about the location is that it's quite a drive to Acadia and Bar Harbor (twenty minutes or so). It can be tiring to commute back and forth day after day. There aren't many good restaurants nearby in Ellsworth but there are plenty of supermarkets if you're on a budget. One last tip: the public bathrooms are located inside the pool room and not in an obvious place in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 789 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2011

After a long search for hotels, we found a room at the Hampton Inn in Ellsworth for our weekend to Acadia National Park. While the rooms were brand new and clean, the air conditioner in the room was noisy and woke us up numerous times throughout the night. The free breakfast in the morning was good and the coffee & tea bar is always open over the course of the day, sometimes with snacks (we missed out on the cookies).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was the best Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in. Granted the property is only one year old, but it was in fabulous condition. The entire hotel smelled fresh and clean and gave off the impression that it was new, but also well taken care of.

The rooms were great. A bit of advice: the bathroom floor gets extremely slippery when wet. Put a towel down!

The pool was nice-- saltwater so you don't have to deal with chlorine irritating you. The breakfast was also above typical Hampton standards. The staff at breakfast were very pleasant, coming around to make sure you had everything you needed and offering mints.

Another plus to this hotel is that it's located right near a variety of businesses and restaurants, but it was not loud. There is a Hannaford directly across the street in case you need anything-- and there is a mini fridge in the room to keep beverages cold.

At first we were worried that it would be a hike to the activities we wanted to do in Acadia/Bar Harbor, but the ride was not bad at all. It was about 20-25 minutes. Definitely don't pass up this hotel if you're going to the area!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Booked a rather last minute trip here with our Hilton points and could not have been more pleased. This Hampton Inn is nicer than a) much pricier places on the Island and b) some Hilton hotels I've stayed in.
Everyone at the hotel was lovely. We drove all night to get there early in the morning. Since a room was available they let us check in upon arrival (about 7 a.m.) so we could get some rest before we started exploring the island. After a full day of hiking, the SALT WATER pool at the hotel was wonderfully relaxing.
In addition, the hotel is right across from a movie theater. This was great for the one night it poured during our trip.
The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from Bar Harbor and much further from some other sites on the island (including our favorite spot to eat), but I've recommended it to a lot a number of friends who were looking to spend quite a bit more for a base of operations to do Acadia.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the sam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank economush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in order to visit Acadia National Park. Have had good luck with Hampton Inns so decided that the 30 minute ride to the park was worth it. This hotel did not disappoint. It was clean and comfortable. It is fairly new so everything was nice and in working order. Staff was friendly, as well. There was ample room to sit in the breakfast area and food was refilled as needed. Location is on a busy road but we did not hear any road noise. Windows do open which was nice. Lots of chain restaurants (McDonalds, Kentucky Fried, Pizza Hut) around and two supermarkets (Shaws & Hannafords). Room had a microwave and refrigerator. Downtown Ellsworth is a cute little town with shops and restaurants. Try Simone's on Franklin for a very nice dinner, a little pricey, but worth it. We got ready made sandwiches from each of the markets to take into the park each day. They were ok, nothing special. Would recommend this hotel and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our motorcycle group stayed at the Hampton Inn in Ellsworth for several days - used it as a base for day rides around the area - http://www.newenglandriders.org/Maine/Maine%20Weekend.htm

We were so pleased with the place and it's staff I wrote this email to the property manager -

Hi Rick,

I wanted to let you know that our motorcycle group, the New England Riders, had a wonderful stay at your Hampton Inn this past week. Acadia was wonderful and your property simple shines. But what stood out the most was your staff. They were exceptional!

The folks behind the desk on day and evening shifts, the people responsible for breakfast and housekeeping were all very pleasant and helpful. It truly felt that they cared about us and our experience at the Hampton Inn. I have traveled on and off for business for over 30 years and your staff ranks with the best of them for genuinely caring and looking out for their guests. They helped make this a memorable weekend for all of us.

Please pass on our thanks and let them know that this group of guests appreciated all that they did.

You should be proud to have such a great staff.

Sincerely,
Bob Fesmire
New England Riders

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldWingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I don't ask much out of my Hamptons - be clean, adhere to the Hampton standard, and take care of your property. This one hit on all fronts.

As with most Hamptons, this is a basic room with basic accoutrements. The indoor pool is a nice touch, with a saltwater whirlpool that works wonders on sore muscles from hiking Acadia National Park (that is why you're here, right?).

The breakfast quality continues to be the nagging thorn in the Hampton Inn's side. If they could improve upon the hot items food quality, I think they might see an up tick in business. Fortunately, the breads, cereals, and fruits are fine, so you have a fallback point.

Fix that breakfast, Hampton Inn, and you'll get 5 stars from me!

Room Tip: Hilton Diamond - find a way to get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhweatherly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.2 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
13.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range: $109 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing