We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diner”
Review of Martha's Diner

Martha's Diner
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Martha's was a great diner and highly recommended by me. The location is strange, in the middle of a strip mall, with a shabby outside appearance. The inside however was interesting with old time memorabilia. As soon as you enter the restaurant a waitress met us and asked what we wanted to drink. The service was fast and friendly. The food was pretty good for the timing and busy environment. The omelets, waffles, and soups are great. It's a great place to stop for a quick bite and friendly people. Thanks Martha's for a great lunch, yesterday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    63
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Martha's ”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Amazing breakfast! Great price, staff was nice, the price was very reasonable, The kitchen is open and very clean. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank Frenchmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Be prepared, no credit cards”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were headed to Bar Harbor on a Saturday morning, saw the sign, and decided to give it a try. It was about 9:00 am, and the place was still crowded for breakfast. We were seated immediately, and had coffee almost as soon as we sat down. We found the service excellent and the tables clean. I had a western sandwich, with a side of home fries. The food was good, and the portions generous. This was our first stop at Martha's, but I think it will become a regular one when we're in the area. Just be aware, no credit cards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Barrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok food good service”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just ok. Everyone speaks highly of Martha's but I have found the food to be nothing special. The service is friendly and quick.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crabtree Neck
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Martha's Marvelous Martha”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

OK this is the place to go in Ellsworth for breakfast especially
and good lunch diner choices also. Friendly service, good
eats , no credit cards.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank retireey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Diner also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Martha's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing