We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pick!”
Review of Martha's Diner

Martha's Diner
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome pick!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I didn't have much time but wanted a good breakfast and not at a "fast food" restaurant. The hotel where we were staying (Fairfield Inn), suggested Martha's Diner - what an awesome place! Great food, fast and really, really friendly service. We felt right at home as soon as we walked through the door and were thrilled to have stumbled upon such a great find. Do yourself and your family a favor - and stop by when you are in the Ellsworth area! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ping54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    65
    18
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice little Slice of the Past”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After all these years, I finally stopped into Martha's.....WOW. We were greeted at the door by Martha; she is a bubbly, outgoing wonderful lady. The restaurant has the old diner feel with outstanding service. There are several options on the menu and the board. Since breakfast is offered all day, I ordered an omelette. It was absolutely perfect.... and, yes you can mess up an omelette. The entire experience will guarantee a return in the very near future. I certainly have been missing out!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMaineCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local Diner”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My favorite local diner. The staff are friendly. Service is great. The food is in good proportions and fairly priced.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jgaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Truly, genuinely friendly and very fast service. Great food. I always get an omelet, but they have really nice specials that often have seafood/eggs benedict etc. The sweet potato pancakes are fantastic. Tasty, filling and very hospitable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank imiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozrah, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

From an unassuming exterior you enter a very 50's theme interior. Great atmosphere! Lots of memorabilia and decorations. I had the sausage and egg omelette. The food came fast and was as cheesey as you could ask for. Home made toast was excellent. Portions are sizable and the food was terrific. Great value and worth a return trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BozrahTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Diner also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Martha's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing