We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew that Ellsworth ME had such a great place for food & libations???”
Review of Finn's Irish Pub

Finn's Irish Pub
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Holden, ME
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Who knew that Ellsworth ME had such a great place for food & libations???”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've been to Finn's several times - and each time it's a solidly excellent meal. The menu changes a little bit each time, but we've never been disappointed with the meal and drinks that we've had. An entree averages about $9 per person, without drinks. And their hand-cut potato chips are wonderful! Their "fish poppers" appetizer are chunks of deep fried haddock in a wonderful batter and the tartar sauce (with jalapenos) is to-die-for excellent!! Their specials, whether it's their soup of the day, appetizers or entrees are top-notch. Any place that can take a grilled cheese sandwich to heavenly new heights that appeal to kids and their parents deserves huge kudos. The clam chowder that they make is amazing - a touch of dill and something else, that we haven't been able to figure out, really rocks this item.

The wait staff are friendly and kind of quirky, but in a good way. And I've overheard them giving really good information that benefits tourists and locals about other restaurants, shopping and good places to camp (Finn's is located close to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor - and the information given was very good!).

The menu items are sure to please most epicureans, and I have heard that the kid's menu gets two thumbs up from the under-12 crowd. We've taken numerous friends to Finn's and they've all found their gustatory happy-space there. Another big plus is the fact that they have on-tap a good selection of locally brewed beers. ("Local" meaning that they have draft beer from Marshall Wharf in Belfast, Me (mid-coast) and the Liberal Cup in Hallowell, ME - next door to Augusta.) The bar is a full-service bar and they also have a solidly decent wine selection.

The bar itself is an old train car - and we've made a point of having a drink and appetizer in the train car just for the ambiance. The restaurant is small, but the staff is always more than happy to accommodate larger groups if you call ahead. All in all, Finn's has the food and the drinks to make even the pickiest epicurean happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    160
    45
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surry, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

average food, average servers, kinda expensive for what you get. beer was good and cold. uncomfortable hot inside dining area

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly low-key and casual”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love Finn's! Whether we are looking for apps and great brews on tap at the beautiful vintage bar just the two of us or celebrating with a larger group of family and friends, our experiences Finn's are always satisfying. There is something on the menu that appeals to everyone, price is reasonable and the taps offer great choices.
It can get a little crowded at the bar, especially on weekend nights, as this is a popular local meeting place and live music is a big draw. We tend to leave the weekends to the younger crowd and go mid-week for a quieter atmosphere.
We appreciate having a more laid back option in Ellsworth, especially when we know we are still getting great food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJC908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WOW what a find”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a great irish pub style place in downtown Ellsworth. The wait staff is awesome, the food is even better. Great atmosphere, great food great service! What a combination! I highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank amyandgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently had to drive to Ellisworth,ME for business,after our meeting we were serching for a place to have a late lunch,and ran into a great Irish Pub named Finn,s right on Main st in Elisworth. Our meeting had lasted till 230 pm,so we were famished! we walk right in to Finn,s and our presance was recieved at light speed by one of the friendly wait staff. we decided to have a seat at the bar and grab some lunch. The bar tender was very friendly,and knowalable and was very fast and courtieous in serving us, the menue was vast and unique,a mix match of
Americian Irish, and Scotiish fare.We orded two differant wraps and many differant sides were offered with the wraps not your same old french fires,but iteams such has special potato salad,mashed potatos has well has fries and chips.Our food was out at light speed! very fresh and tasty,one of the best wraps I have ever had,loaded with flavor,and served in a tomato baisl wrap,not just the plain white flour ones that frequent most places.The beer selection was has vast has the menue,with many selections from Maine Micros and European draughts. They actully were serving a real Kolsh Ale from Germany,you dont see that style around much. For those of you who are not fimilar with this style,a Kolosh is a German Ale actully brewed in the town of Colonge Germany its unique flavor profile is world famous and it's one of the only Ales brewed in Germany. Light and refreshing but still full bodied. They even served this brew in the correct glassware a tall thin Kolsch glass! Now thats paying attion to detail.The atmospher is unique has well with the color scheme beging very welcoming with a mix of soft and bright reds that make that Irish feeling warm and welcome.Over all I would highly recomned this restaurant to any one,the food is excellent , unique and very affordable,the wait staff is friendly and welcomming and the atmospher is warming. I cant wait to go back and experiance some other munue iteams like Scotch Egg,the many differant burger options and salads has well has the apertizers.And lets not forgot the draught beer line up,fantastic! An Irish pub worth the trip. Hey Saint Pats Day is right on our heals!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Irish Pub also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Finn's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing