We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
too far inland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quirky but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped here after a day of exploring and this quaint little motel fit in perfectly with our day. It is located on Hwy 1 on the hill above Ellsworth. We had a queen size room in the back portion of the motel. We worried that road noise might be an issue but we didn't have any trouble sleeping because the traffic noise was minimal in the back portion. The rooms were clean and had some really nice personal products for the traveler. It was not fancy but quite pleasant and the owners were very nice. Turns out we had an Idaho connection. They serve a simple rolls and drink breakfast that you can eat on the enclosed patio. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddleduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    88
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
127
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On our way South from Lubec we stayed at the Twilite Motel in Ellsworth ME based upon Trip Advisor reviews and because it seemed like a fun thing to do - another blast from the past.

The Twilite was as describe on Trip Advisor. It is on the outskirts of Ellsworth but not to far from the LL Bean Outlet, Reny's and Marden's Surplus and Salvage all places on the bucket list.

The Twilite is a 1950's vintage pull up to the door motel and everything was very clean and neat. If you must have interior corridors and encrypted room keys you should go somewhere else. The Twilite is owner operated and they live on the premises.

Their are two sets of buildings - the original and an expansion to the rear. I believe the building to the rear may have larger rooms - check this when you call to make reservations.

The only downside was that the shower which had been updated was very small - sort of like a cruise ship shower.

The breakfast was a continental breakfast off the office and there was also a patio for dining. They have Twilite coffee mugs for sale - I couldn't resist.

We would stay there again but would investigate the rear building for a larger room and shower.

We did not notice any road side noise - just a moderate thunderstorm by Southern standards.

The owner is a Green Bay Packer fan - his slippers were a clue.

Room Tip: Call to make reservations and ask about the rooms in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are the Holiday Inn type, this motel is not for you. But if you enjoy staying in a vintage roadside motel, clean, economical - this is the place for you. Friendly owners on site even provide a basic breakfast (bread, rolls, cereal). If your room is in the front, your sleep may be broken by the trucks roaring by on Route 1. We had Room 12, two queen-size beds, a little saggy, very clean bathroom, miniscule tub that is really a shower stall - strong spray, lots of hot water. $89! Such a deal!

Room Tip: Ask first for a room in the back to cut down on road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Elizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Quaint motel located about a mile outside of town on Bucksport Road. Called motel directly and got cheaper rate than was advertised on web search engines. Had queen size room in back portion of property away from the road. Somewhat quieter. Young female staff member at checkin recommended local restaurants in town. Motel room was immaculately clean and good sized. WiFi worked fine. Room was quiet. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Call motel directly when making reservation to get cheaper rate than advertised on Web search engine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyvanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A "mom and pop" hotel (the owners make a point of this, as they should) that offers small but clean and comfortable accommodations, with interesting design touches in the room and bath (carpentry and tiles were nicely done, but the tub was large enough only for a child). The owners were quite helpful with information (and hairdryer) and one evening even gave us muffins when we were to be gone during breakfast hours the next day. Even though the property is on a traveled road, our cabin was far enough away from the road that we were not aware of traffic. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ojtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Owners are nice people. The room and the bathroom were small and clean. The breakfast was very basic: bags of oatmeal, pastry, bread, apples. The lock in our room had some problems. There was no hairdryer in the room, but it was available upon request. It was a little noisy in the room since the motel is located near the road. Overall the motel is a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 649001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Seeing other reviews of this motel we gave it a shot and weren't disappointed.
It was clean, comfortable, spacious (we had a larger queen room). The staff (the family that owns it) were super helpful with everything and even lent us their hiking maps for the Acadian national park (which aren't free!).
We found it perfect for our needs.
It's about 15minutes drive to Bar Habour (lots of places to eat) and about 2 minutes to local Ellsworth.

Room Tip: The larger rooms (deluxe?) are slightly behind the main building/office which may block more of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhelterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
9.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Property: Twilite Motel
Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellsworth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#5 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing