We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very friendly and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very friendly and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Twilite Motel and do not regret it at all! The staff (especially the owner, Chuck) are very friendly and will give you advise on where to go and where to eat for resonable prices. The rooms were very clean! no problems at all. It is a quiet little motel (it is located on a main road, but a little futher back so you do not hear too much of the traffic) If the purpose of staying in Ellsworth is to try and save money in comparison to staying in Bar Harbour, I would recommend it! It is about 30-35 minutes from Bar Harbour and a lot cheaper! They offer a very nice continental breakfast in the morning..all fresh! And..if you have pets under 20 pounds...they will accomodate them as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    92
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
135
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The Twilite motel is located about 20 miles north and west of Acadia National Park. It is an excellent value, very clean, and convenient to shopping, the Park, Bar Harbor, and just browsing around the Downeast area of Maine's east coast. While we were busy and spent little time there, we found the room to be very clean, quiet, and roomy! Our daughter, age 9, did not mind that there was no pool as we were so busy sightseeing. The owners were helpful with what to do on a rainy day ( they have a notebook made up with suggestions) and we felt very at home and comfortable there. The one thing that bothered us a little was the traffic noise from this busy section of Route 1. Otherwise we would give a perfect rating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kensma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just a quick stay here as we were moving on to Bar Harbor. The owners were very friendly and helpful in knowing what we could see in the area. The room and bathroom were very clean. Only complaint would be the lighting was so low. Common problem in hotel rooms though. Breakfast was good with more than just cereal and toast. There were also apples, and nice breads such as muffins, etc. Enjoyed eating on the screened in porch and chatting with other folks who were staying. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NGN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A smaller, owner-owned and operated motel with a cottage-like atmosphere, clean and comfortable. Owners are very helpful and accommodating. Good continental breakfast offered to enjoy on individual deck or their screened in area. Stay there 2 - 4 times a year for a few overnights or even a week. or more. Convenient to Bar Harbor, Bangor and locations on and off Route 1. Away from street noise.

Room Tip: Single and double rooms are offered, pet friendly, no smoking, laundry available, some rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 495906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, FL
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The room was clean. It included a microfridge but no microwave. There was a laundry room. The breakfast included cereal, oatmeal, and pastries. The man at the desk was very helpful in suggesting eating locations. Hotels in the Acadia area are expensive, and this was the lowest price hotel with a good rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

for a great little motel with comfortable super clean rooms and lots of character. glad to support a mom and pop establishment in a quaint town in maine. will be back again! while in ellsworth, have a great coffee and browse the rooster brother store right down the road from the motel....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were touring with another couple on our motorcycles. The Twilite Motel was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and decorated very tastefully - like a mini Bed & Breakfast. The owner was so helpful to us. The weather was rainy on the day we were going to see Acadia and Bar Harbor, he helped us locate a rental car and made sure our stay was pleasant. Yes, it is an older motel and if you want to pay more for a fancy hotel, that is fine; but I still give this 5 stars for the value, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyderWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
9.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Property: Twilite Motel
Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#5 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing