We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, central location in Acadia Park area”
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A smaller, owner-owned and operated motel with a cottage-like atmosphere, clean and comfortable. Owners are very helpful and accommodating. Good continental breakfast offered to enjoy on individual deck or their screened in area. Stay there 2 - 4 times a year for a few overnights or even a week. or more. Convenient to Bar Harbor, Bangor and locations on and off Route 1. Away from street noise.

Room Tip: Single and double rooms are offered, pet friendly, no smoking, laundry available, some rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 495,906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

The room was clean. It included a microfridge but no microwave. There was a laundry room. The breakfast included cereal, oatmeal, and pastries. The man at the desk was very helpful in suggesting eating locations. Hotels in the Acadia area are expensive, and this was the lowest price hotel with a good rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

for a great little motel with comfortable super clean rooms and lots of character. glad to support a mom and pop establishment in a quaint town in maine. will be back again! while in ellsworth, have a great coffee and browse the rooster brother store right down the road from the motel....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were touring with another couple on our motorcycles. The Twilite Motel was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and decorated very tastefully - like a mini Bed & Breakfast. The owner was so helpful to us. The weather was rainy on the day we were going to see Acadia and Bar Harbor, he helped us locate a rental car and made sure our stay was pleasant. Yes, it is an older motel and if you want to pay more for a fancy hotel, that is fine; but I still give this 5 stars for the value, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpyderWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in September of 2012 after deciding on a whim to take a drive down Rte 1 from New Brunswick, Ca. We found the Twilite on Tripadvisor (then rated #2 for Ellsworth), and found exactly what had been described on the website by those that had given it a high rating.
It was very clean, well maintained, very friendly hosts, not very expensive, breakfast was included and given its age and history more reminiscent of another era than the boxy chain motels that are indistinguishable from town to town now adays.
This is my first review on Tripadvisor, and I post it to commiserate with small owners everywhere that have to deal with nasty anonymous posters that besmirch their establishments and the hard work that are put into them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davyboy547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This motel is very cozy and clean. It seemed to be the perfect little place to stay in New England. It's not rustic exactly...but cottagy. The rooms we had were a comfortable size, no's 9 and 10. We got a terrific off season rate for the week. The owner was super friendly and accomodating. The little breakfast room had instant oatmeal, various pastries and so on with good coffee or other hot beverages. We really loved it here and it was centrally located to sights in the area. We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: 9 or 10 were good size...in the front row and very short walk to office/breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LInda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

So happy to have found this gem! Built in the 50s, it has some retro charm, well cared for by the couple who owns/operates it. We were very pleased with the fresh clean room, comfortable bed and well maintained bathroom. Shower, no tub. Continental breakfast selections satisfied us just fine. The best part was Chuck's care to recommend places to see & places to eat that we probably would not have discovered on our own. The next morning, enjoyed his greeting and interest in how the day turned out and where we were going next. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.5 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
167 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
95 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing