We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of an older style motor inn”
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in September of 2012 after deciding on a whim to take a drive down Rte 1 from New Brunswick, Ca. We found the Twilite on Tripadvisor (then rated #2 for Ellsworth), and found exactly what had been described on the website by those that had given it a high rating.
It was very clean, well maintained, very friendly hosts, not very expensive, breakfast was included and given its age and history more reminiscent of another era than the boxy chain motels that are indistinguishable from town to town now adays.
This is my first review on Tripadvisor, and I post it to commiserate with small owners everywhere that have to deal with nasty anonymous posters that besmirch their establishments and the hard work that are put into them.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davyboy547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Twilite Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

This motel is very cozy and clean. It seemed to be the perfect little place to stay in New England. It's not rustic exactly...but cottagy. The rooms we had were a comfortable size, no's 9 and 10. We got a terrific off season rate for the week. The owner was super friendly and accomodating. The little breakfast room had instant oatmeal, various pastries and so on with good coffee or other hot beverages. We really loved it here and it was centrally located to sights in the area. We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: 9 or 10 were good size...in the front row and very short walk to office/breakfast room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LInda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

So happy to have found this gem! Built in the 50s, it has some retro charm, well cared for by the couple who owns/operates it. We were very pleased with the fresh clean room, comfortable bed and well maintained bathroom. Shower, no tub. Continental breakfast selections satisfied us just fine. The best part was Chuck's care to recommend places to see & places to eat that we probably would not have discovered on our own. The next morning, enjoyed his greeting and interest in how the day turned out and where we were going next. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently were in need for an affordable ,clean and comfortable place to stay on 2 different occasions for 2 nights stay..we found this perfect cozy ,clean and convenient little motel and the owners were very,very nice and helpful All the necessary items in the room were provided..If the need arises again I hope they will will be able to provide a room for us..would recommend the Twilight Inn to others..

Room Tip: call ahead for vacancy
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Clean, cozy. Close to shopping and food. Continental breakfast. Nice grounds. Quiet. Rooms are spacious. Access to laundry facility. If you have small children, there's only a swing set for them to play on, but lots of property to run around on.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySchoRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this small privately owned roadside motel during labour day weekend 2012. The owner and his wife were very knowlegeable of the area and gave great tips and information on the area. The room was simple but spacious and clean with all the necessities. Breakfast was very convenient and filling. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineNGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Twilite in October. We loved our room and enjoyed our stay. It was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast, especially the blueberry muffins, was delicious. The owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellsworth hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.6 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
678 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sanctuary B&B
The Sanctuary B&B
#1 of 3 in Ellsworth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellsworth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#5 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range: $100 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing