We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice people, comfy room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
426 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice people, comfy room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Conveniently located, one mile from city center. Room nicely furnished and original, featuring low ceiling beams and irregular shape. Small breakfast room but lots of tables outside. Usual breakfast fare. Very nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    92
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
135
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carson, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Twilite Motel in Ellsworth. Check-in was fast and friendly, the owners gave us good recommendations for dinner. The room was very clean and good size. Parking is convenient at the front door of your room. The TV is older and there is no fridge or microwave. The location is good, about 30 minutes to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The breakfast was good and adequate, it is in a small room, but also outdoor covered seating. We enjoyed our stay at Twilite Motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTraveler65575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Pleasant little gem, not on Mount Dessert but close enough, very clean, quiet, pieceful accomodations,elegant, big room. Walking distance from main street--about 1 mile with some great restaurants. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room "in the back."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siberiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel was our first experience with TripAdvisor and it was a gem! The room was clean and comfortable, the owners friendly and helpful, and both the indoor and outdoor (covered patio) settings were cozy for enjoying a decent continental breakfast. Because this was night #3 and #4 on our long-distance road trip, it was convenient to have a laundry room available. This room offered detergent, an ironing board, iron, and games/books. The basic rooms are small, but adequate if you're spending most of your time in Acadia or elsewhere in the area, and it has that old, Route 66 charm we always search out. Upon reaching home weeks later, we discovered that good friends have also stayed here and consider it one of their favorite off-water spots in Maine.

Room Tip: The original strip of rooms is closer to a busy highway, but there are newer, larger rooms in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSU70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The room was tiny, the bathroom was even tinier, and smelled stronly like mildew. The hotel is actually more like a bunch of small camping trailers put next to each other. Wasnt the cleanest hotel either. Location was good and for the area, was a good price, but you get what you pay for. I'd put in a few more bucks and get something a bit nicer. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse as well.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgs3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive place to spend a night near Acadia National Park prior to visiting the next day . Twilite Motel lived up to the reviews posted on T/A. Found the owners very helpful and hospitable, even allowing me to go through their change bucket in my search for US states commemorative 25c (and I found some I needed for my set). Breakfast was adequate and especially nice on the veranda. Bed was comfy and the setting with the trees in front with the easy chair really was very relaxing. Perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Clean, comfortable, convenient, very reasonably priced. Need I say more? But Tripadvisor requires that I do, so I'll add that the owners are friendly and helpful and that on future trips to the area I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
9.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Property: Twilite Motel
Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#5 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing