We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fanstastic.”
Review of Cod Cove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgecomb
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cod Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Edgecomb B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Everthing about the place was terrific. The grounds and gardens were just lovely. Good pool area. We watched the sunset from Adirondack chairs on the lawn. The room was clean and well-decorated. The staff was helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardngoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

Reading the reviews, we were expecting perhaps a glorified Motel 6. I don't know where those comments came from, but we could not have been more satisfied. Traffic? Close the door when you sleep (you have to anyway - Maine Moosequitos) and the road is quite a distance from the room. It does not take away from the view, and the sunsets...WOW! Right from the balcony! Not only was it EXTREMELY clean, down to the grout on the bathroom floor, you were made to feel like you were really welcome - and appreciated, which is something I find odd these days. The rooms were beautifully decorated with more of a home like feel, with all the comforts one would expect, and perhaps a bit more. Seriously, who gives you lip balm? Special made soaps? Those were just some of the pleasant little unexpected goodies. Sitting out on the balcony in the morning sipping a cup of coffee, smelling huge muffins baking, guessing that they were blueberry?.........I was right. Breakfast was European continental. No pancakes cooking, but if you went hungry it was your own fault. Much to pick from. Even a jar of mini marshmallows for hot chocolate. The whole place is filled with small, considerate details for your comfort. Definate thought put into this place. The area couldn't have been a more perfect location. We spent a week here and still didn't see all that we wanted to. Nothing was far - Maine Botonical Gardens, Booth Bay, Breakwater at Rockland, lighthouses, LL Bean and stores ( the farthest and still less than an hour), beaches,etc. The grounds themselves also have beautiful landscaping. We did not use the pool, as we are not swimmers. There is not a restaurant on site, but if you cannot find some great food to eat from 5 minutes away at Red's Eat's, Sprague's, Sarah's Cafe, or The Garage to 20 minutes at Moody's Diner, you are not that hungry. Two things that I definately appreciated - coffee pot and frig. We will be back. Thank you Cod Cove Staff. You made our week special. Bob and Deb, N. Royalton, OH

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony looking out to the river. You can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justbrowsingthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We wanted to stay between Boothbay and Camden Maine,and the Cod Cove Inn is located about the same distance from each, basically near the small village of Wiscasette. It is located up on a hill looking down on the village which is nice but it is also noisy because it is on an intersection and there is a great deal of truck traffic. It is a two story building with entrance to the room from the outside, but the rooms are nicely decorated and the bed comfortable. If you are fussy, you will not like the old tv's in the room. A breakfast of muffins, juice, fruit, etc does the trick but is nothing to exciting. The young fellow who was there most of the time, and the owner, were accommodating and pleasant. The grounds which include a pool seems very nice. The only really negative point I would make, is that I thought the rate of $139 was high considering it was off season. We stayed in Ogunquit the night before for $80 and the accommodations there were as good or not better. But overall, we were pleased with the accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed her on the way up to Bar Harbor,ME. We liked it so much we stayed again on the way back. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff was very friendly. The view from your room is just great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEasternShoreBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This year marked our second stay at Cod Cove Inn. Last year we were there for three nights, and this year we chose to stay for six nights. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the location provides easy access to a multitude of scenic and cultural activities. Besides this, the proprietors and staff are unfailingly gracious and helpful. We have no hesitation in awarding this property five diamonds, and hope to return on many occasions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speedgraphic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We just returned from a trip to New England and most of it was spent in Edgecomb, Maine. We stayed a week at the Cod Cove Inn and were quite happy and content. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful, not to mention attentive. Of course, this is Maine in January, which is "deep winter" as one local described it, so we were sometimes the only ones at the Cod Cove. (Many establishments and businesses were closed for the season throughout the area!) However, we were quite comfortable. It was a good location and "homebase" for us right off Route 1.

Our room was large and very clean with a small couch and balcony. It overlooked the Sheepscot River in the not too far distance. The windows covered one wall of the room and kept it quite bright and airy. There was a microwave and small refrigerator that we found quite useful during the week. In fact, one day a "nor'easter" blew in and we were fortunate that we had happened to buy some sandwiches and drinks the day before as no one was really going anywhere during the storm. The bathroom was separated into two areas -- one with the toilet and shower and the other with a sink.

There is a continental breakfast with hot and cold drinks, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bagels, fruit and homemade muffins (a different kind every morning!). It's not hearty, but you can certainly fill up on what they did have and it suit our needs just fine. One morning there were even waffles! Hot coffee, tea, or cocoa was available at all times as was the breakfast room to sit and work on computers in the afternoons or evenings.

The only two things to comment on that might be helpful to know is that because it was called an "inn," we expected it to be one large building, like a big, sprawling New England estate, but it was set up with rooms in separate parts of the building that were accessible from the outside only. Not a big deal, or even a complaint, just fyi. The other thing that someone might want to know is something another reviewer mentioned: the heater. It did cycle off and on and it really does become "white noise," but we could see how someone might get bothered by it. However, these were two really minor things about our stay at the Cod Cove.

We really were quite comfortable during our week in Edgecomb at the Cod Cove Inn and enjoyed our stay there. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhodes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Let's see: Bar Harbor Grand in downtown Bar Harbor or this motel - both for the same price? No contest! Frankly, the Bar Harbor Grand is worth twice what this price is worth. We felt ripped off a bit here. Now, don't get us wrong, the proprietor is very nice and very helpful; his staff is very good; the breakfast is standard fare but adequate; the location is OK. But, we were shocked at the AAA price of $138 including tax in the off season; way too much; but we tired; and we took it anyway. The rooms are small; the bathroom is tiny; not convenient; the the heater roared on and off all night long; it was getting cold of course. We would not stop by here again; there are other options.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CACTUSPETEAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cod Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cod Cove Inn

Address: 22 Cross Rd, Edgecomb, ME 04556-3150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Edgecomb
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Edgecomb
Price Range: $99 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cod Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Cod Cove Hotel Edgecomb
Cod Cove Inn Edgecomb, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing