We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price on Fresh Seafood”
Review of Quoddy Bay Lobster

Quoddy Bay Lobster
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Eastport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: This is a seaside restaurants with outdoor seating only, serving fresh lobster, crab, clams, mussels and scallop dishes in a variety of ways. The chowda is to die for (not your standard, flour base, but a creamy seafood infused broth loaded with yummies). There are salads, wraps, rolls, children's portions and dinner size as well. There are a few items for land lovers, but no one in our group ordered any of them. There is a small gift shop offering local made mustards, relishes and other refreshments. Put it on your bucket list!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a seaside restaurants with outdoor seating only, serving fresh lobster, crab, clams, mussels and scallop dishes in a variety of ways. The chowda is to die for (not your standard, flour base, but a creamy seafood infused broth loaded with yummies). There are salads, wraps, rolls, children's portions and dinner size as well. There are a few items for land lovers, but no one in our group ordered any of them. There is a small gift shop offering local made mustards, relishes and other refreshments. Put it on your bucket list!
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best price on Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found out that the owners are also fishermen so the seafood is always fresh and a great value as they have cut out the middle-man! We love the lobster!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    23
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat at Red's, Instead”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were disappointed. We sought out this place because of Yankee Magazine's rating, but we were disappointed with the quantity for the price. There was nothing special about the lobster roll; it tasted good, the roll was fresh, but it was not different from any other lobster roll that we've tasted in Maine. However, the cost for a jumbo lobster roll was 4 dollars more for one that included just an extra claw on top. We got the smoked salmon spread with crackers, and paid more than it was worth. There was an assortment of crackers, with 6 of the 8 packages broken and crumbled. We had to ask for unbroken crackers - why would you give broken crackers with a spread? Anyway, we did like the spread, only to find out it was from Maine-ly Smoked Salmon, just down the road in Perry. Fortunately we bought some of the real spread. It seemed to us after we tasted the spread we bought at Maine-ly Smoked that the small appetizer potion sold at Quoddy bay Lobster had extra mayo or something added to it so it was less thick. We won't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan8041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING FOOD in a Very Unlikely Setting”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Why does one stand in line at Quoddy Bay Lobster at a converted warehouse at the end of a unpaved street with primarily outdoor seating and porta-potties for restrooms, to place your order from a limited menu and pick it up to sit at picnic tables or in a tiny dining room?? It is very simple; the food is wonderful.

Steamed lobsters and clams, lobster and crabmeat rolls and wraps, haddock sandwiches, seafood and fish chowder with a kids menu to boot...everything here is the best I have ever tasted!!!! There are a few non-seafood items on the menu, but the long lines are for fresh seafood cooked to perfection with an unforgettable taste!

You will see licence tags from the lower 48 in the parking area as proof positive that this simple little place is the best-in-class!! Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THIS IS MAINE!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Enjoy a fabulous lunch or dinner at a picnic table as you watch the lobster boats unload at the dock. Choose a hard shell or soft shell lobster and it will be weighed and steamed for you.The seafood chowder is outrageously delicious - chock full of lobster and scallops. The lobster roll will knock your socks off and they make it fresh to your liking. They serve what they have until they run out. Luckily they just got in clams and I had those too. We were staying in Lubec but took the ferry over to eat lunch and dinner here for two days in a row. Don't bother with the local restaurants - this place is Maine at it's finest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lobster Rolls worth a 2 hour drive to Quoddy Bay Lobster”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A non-descript looking place at the end of the main street with outdoor picnic tables and a few inside - but oh, oh what a treat!!! Not a place I would necessarily have chosen to eat but, it came highly recommended. Lobster rolls in 2 sizes (regular and jumbo) $14.95 and $21.95 with your choice of mayonnaise, Mircle Whip or drizzled with real butter in a perfectly toasted role and topped with a whole lobster claw (2 claws on the jumbo). No fillers such as lettuce, celery or onion - just packed full of pure lobster. They also have crab rolls, lobster chowder and stew and many other items on the standard menu with daily specials written on a chalk board. Eastport, Maine is a small charming village with lots of shops with local pottery, paintings, crafts and antique stores - perfect for browsing after a delicious lunch at Quoddy Bay Lobster. Best lobster rolls we have eaten in a long time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisingatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quoddy Bay Lobster also viewed

Eastport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Eastport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Eastport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Quoddy Bay Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing