We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel East
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“great place close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

we have stayed here several times , both in the hotel and the house beside it, great easy access to everything ,shopping, FISHING, and friends

Room Tip: ask for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
18
26
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed at the Motel East with a friend in the middle of summertime. The motel is located a close walk to the downtown Eastport. The Motel East is right on the water and has a million dollar view of beautiful sunrises and Campobello Island, Canada. The Motel East is not fancy but it was very comfortable and spacious. The room was huge! The bathroom was very clean and very large. It was one of the biggest bathrooms I have ever seen. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly. She told us about a store that was open until 9pm so we could get alcohol and snacks. The area is very quiet and sleepy and the grocery stores close quite early. There are very few lodging options in Eastport. I would definitely stay at the Motel East again in this uniquie little Down East city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

The motel was very disappointing...dirty, poorly furnished, and not at all worth the $105 a night we paid. We were on the lower level and had to traverse a stairway made of randomly placed stones... a lawsuit just waiting for someone to fall! The view might have been good if we'd been on a higher level, but it would not have been enough to compensate for the dust and lack of amenities (no coffee-maker, no reading light anywhere near the beds.) A prior guest had written "wash me" in the dust on the mirror, and the glass on the slider looked as if two dogs had licked it, one on each side! All in all, not a place we would ever stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank me2fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

The motel looks nice from the front, we were on the walk out level, there was definate structural damage. The floors were sloped,, the bathroom doors wouldn't shut. We were afraid it would cave in during the night. The screen door was ripped so mosquitos were coming in. We didn't enjoy our stay in this town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwfalk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked two rooms. The beds were large, but with outdated sheets and blankets. Mattress was not great. Floor dirty by all standards. I think that one hundred-twenty-nine dollars per night per room was not worth it.

Dinner across the street at the “Pickled Haring” was very-very good (a reason to come back). Breakfast at the Blue Iris was basic, not so great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_Van_Dyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
800 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed one night at the Motel East in Eastport, Maine...it was adequate--no frills, but all the standard amenities were there for us, although they absolutely need new pillows. The decor is a bit tired and in need of updating, but as I say, it's a clean place to stay for a night or two. It is located on the water, so the views are nice and each room has a baclony. We checked in late and were surprised that the charges were so high...$145...and we were only there for a short period. Recently, we stayed in Upstate NY and they discounted the rate because we checked in so late. The manager , however, was very friendly and all in all, we thought the motel met our needs for one night. There were other guests on their balcony (no realy separation between balconies) talking and moving chairs until nearly 3:30 a.m., so this didn't make for great sleep. The manager is not on site during the night (he had to be called and come to check us in), so we had no one to register a compaint about the noise. We might stay here again, but more than likely we would plan ahead and stay at one of the local B&Bs...there was one down the street (very attractive home) which I later found out was between $75 and $85 per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We came here for a night of being by the ocean and just kicking back and relaxing. At first glance, the room looks fine until the sunshine shows all the dirt all over the carpeting; the beds need updating in the worst way, poor mattresses and bedding, skinny little pillows. We finally got up at 4 a.m. and left after not sleeping much. Would not recommend this to anyone looking for a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainenurse309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
17.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
15.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
15.0 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
7.2 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel East

Property: Motel East
Address: 23A Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1529
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Motel East Hotel Eastport
East Hotel Eastport
East Motel Eastport
Motel East Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing