We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible shuttle bus service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furama Villas & Spa Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mambal
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“terrible shuttle bus service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and everything was very much as we were expected after reading the reviews on the tripadvisor, except the free shuttle bus service to ubud town. They are scheduled to run 5 times a day (round trip) and they were never on time. We even waited for 15 mins for our return trip from town to the hotel, the reason was because they were en-routed to pick up a family from another location (not the designated pick up point) who show up late for their pick up time, the shuttle has to wait for them. As soon as we returned to the hotel, we raised our concerns to the hotel staff. The case was reported to the Front Desk Manager whom we managed to talk to in the evening. He did not think that it is an issue for the shuttle bus not on time and leaving the hotel guest waited at the designed pick up point for 15 mins.

This is not the worst part, they even sent some unmarked taxi to pick up the hotel guests from town center back to the hotel on the last scheduled return trip at 9pm. We were approached by a stranger holding a "Furama" sign and asked if we are the hotel guests. He said that the hotel has arranged for free taxi back to the hotel because the shuttle bus were on the way to the airport and we should follow him to his friend's car who lived close by the hotel area and can give us a ride back. Of course we refused and demand to talk to the hotel for verification. Although after verification with the hotel on his mobile (we tried to call the hotel but the number were always busy) and we confirmed that they have sent the taxi. We still insisted for the hotel to send their own bus which came 10 mins later. This time we did not even bother talked to the Front Desk Manager again.

We cannot understand why they managed the shuttle bus service in such a non-reliable way, whereas the other facilities are up to standards.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piggy_pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSFOManager, Front Office Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, April 25, 2009
Dear Our valued Reviewer

Thank you for your comment. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in our shuttle service. We have taken your comments in a very constructive fashion and we can assure we are not complacent, in fact we are very proactive . Thanks again for your comments and we hope next time you visit us at Furama Villas and Spa you can experience the changes we are now making and that we will be able to provide you with a truly memorable experience then the last one..


Yours Sincerely

Marcel Paga
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    228
    63
    24
    15
See reviews for
125
486
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzern
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

We passed two weeks in Furama Villas & Spa in Bali and we liked it very very much.
The whole staff was really friendly and helpful.
The Bungalow Villa has a really nice garden with an own pool. Everyday they cleaned our pool and our room.
Furama Villas and Spa is in the middle of a rice field. Amazing!!!
We are sure that we go back there.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeetyLuzern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSFOManager, Front Offie Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, May 8, 2009
Dear Our Valued Reviewer,
Warmest Greetings from Furama Villas and Spa !
Thank you for spending some of your precious time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to hear that your holiday was a most memorable and enriching one and thank you for the credits you have generously put on our garden and private pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to ensuring your next journey with us is once again enriching and distinctive.

Exceptionally yours,

Marcel Paga
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intsik
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

This is one of my best hotel experiences ever. This is an all villa property. Every villa ( i think) is its own little house. Big canopy bed, great decor. Big bathroom with deep tub and outdoor shower. Deck to lounge around and eat, where you chose to have breakfast. Own decent size plunge pool. And a massage hut, with an great massage.
When we were there there, the main communal areas were being reconstructed, which was a shame.

Service is exceptional. Cheerful, well organized and best of all, unobstrusive.

Only downside is that is it not near Ubud town center. Hotel has a shuttle that runs a couple of times during the day.

Check out the website. Look pretty accurate.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSUBUD, General Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Dear Valued Viewer,

Greetings from Furama Villa and Spa, Ubud!

Thank you for your afford to share your personal experience during your stay at Furama Villa and Spa, Ubud on this Trip Advisor.

It is obvious that your stay with us proved to be a most enriching experience and I am pleased to hear that you love our cheerful, well organize and un obtrusive hotel services.

I and my conscientious staff hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to either Furama Villa and Spa or FuramaXvilla in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Ramia Adnyana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

We Honeymoon in this hotel. The room is very big and clean with the private pool, the staff is very hospitable and nice. The environment of this hotel or surrounding this hotel is GREAT!!!! We can leave the busy city and can listen the natural sound (e.g. the bird and coke singing in every morning). The hotel provide the suttle bus to central Ubud everyday just 15 mins (they have the schedule) but the last bus is 5pm, so, you need to have a good arrangement of your dinner when you stay here. We tried the set dinner and also BBQ dinner in this hotel, the taste is good and fresh, the price is resonable. The happiest thing is when the staff knew that we Honeymoon there, they provide the great decoration in our room including some flowers in the pool, I love this hotel very much. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnyRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSUBUD, General Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Dear Valued Advisor,

I am very proud as our hotel has been chosen as a place for your unforgettable honeymoon and thank you for your positive overall review for our hotel services.

Our hotel heritage has been arranged to full fill our guests needs that consider away from busy live and stay close to the natural life. For our restaurant services our professional chef has knowing what our guests need no wonder our guests be in love with the menu provided.

I am also delighted to hear that you will be recommending the property to others who are considering traveling for their honeymoon or any other occasion.

Your sincerely,
Ramia Adnyana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. From the hotel pick up to the drop off, we enjoyed wonderfully friendly service. Our villa was lovely with a small swimming pool and beautiful gardens. We had a huge bathtub and outdoor shower.
The location is quite isolated, but then that's how it's so peaceful and quiet. The villa do have a free shuttle service that runs every two hours. It was very convenient as you could head into town on the first bus after breakfast and then head back after lunch... or a full day out.
The staff were really what made our stay marvelous. From the driver who picked us up to the gardener, they all greeted each guest they saw and asked how you are. The restaurant staff were always smiling and friendly and everyone was willing to go out of their way to help you. The staff here really showed the true Balinese hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSUBUD, General Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, July 28, 2009
Greetings from Sunny Bali!
Thank you for taking the time to post your personal impersonation regarding your recent stay at our hotel on this Trip Advisor. I am glad that you were able to appreciate the timeless exquisiteness of our hotel. Through confirmatory feedback about the hotel and our hospitality that we deliver is always highly valued.
We are hoping that on your next journey to Bali you will choose Furama Villa and Villa again as your second home and we will assure to give you more even marvelous experiences. Looking forward for your next booking.

Warmest regards,
Ramia Adnyana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

We chose to stay at Furama Xclusive for our honeymoon from the recommendation of a friend.

We have to commend and thank Hubert and his staff for making our honeymoon a very memorable experience.
From the moment we got there and for the duration of our stay they really looked after us. All the staff are very friendly and dedicated - awesome bunch of people!

We booked a lagoon room which was fantastic with it's direct access to the main pool. Then moved to a duplex for the rest of our stay. It was like having our own modern town house over looking the rice paddy's with private plunge pool - very nice.

Though yes the resort is 15 - 20 min (by car) from central Ubud there is a free shuttle service to town. We hired a local driver to drive us around plus hired our own car for a couple days - driving was no problem.

The resort is great if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle as the hotel is tucked away behind a local village area - backing onto rice paddy's. Gives you a sense of the real Ubud.

It may not have ALL the facilities of a top end hotel but if you want great amenities, surroundings, service, food, awesome massages (great spa!) etc we highly recommend staying.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank danlin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSUBUD, General Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, July 28, 2009
Warmest Regards from FuramaXclusive Villa and Spa.

I would like to thank you for spending some of your time to write such a comprehensive overview of the hotel and colorful account detailing your stay with us. It is obvious that you found the overall experience quite heartening.

I am glad to hear that you feel looked after by my staff and make your honeymoon a very memorable experience. Our surrounding is located in the middle of padi’s fields and stay away from hustle and bustle to make our guests feel the quietness and peacefulness. Just in case they are boring and want to explore more about local people we are providing the shuttle bus to Ubud therefore they can interact with the local people and surrounding.

Thank you for highly recommend our properties to others who considering a great amenities, surroundings, service, food, awesome massages we are assure they will get what they want here at Furama Villa and Spa, Ubud.

I, Hubert and Furama team hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to either Furama Villa and Spa, or FuramaXclusive Villa and Spa, Ubid in the near future and wish you all the very best until then.

Best Regards,
Ramia Adnyana
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

I would have given this resort an excellent rating if not for a minor incident that occured on the 3rd night of our stay. More about this later.

Thanks to the generosity of my friend who was holding her wedding in Bali, we were booked into Furama's brand new group of villas, known as the FuramaXclusive Villas. We stayed in their Lagoon Pool Villas.

Our flight touched down at around 9.30pm so fortunately, the custom check-out was smooth and easy. The hotel's driver met us at the airport. On the approximately 80 minutes journey to the hotel, he asked if we would like to stop along the way to buy some bottled water. We thought that was a great idea so we agreed.

By the time we reached FuramaXclusive Villas, it's already around 11.30pm. We were feeling hungry so after the quick check-in, the receptionist ushered us to the hotel's restaurant for our complimentary 4-course italian dinner.

Obviously at that hour, we were the only guests at the restaurant. I got a feeling that they standby their waiting staff just for our midnight dinner. The first course was cream of asparagus soup. Normally, I don't take cream soups but their asparagus soup was really nice and not too creamy. The rest of the courses were equally nice.

After we had finished dinner, the hotel staff gave us a buggy ride to our villa, where he unload our lugguages, showed us around the villa before bidding us goodnight.

And boy, were we blown away by our gorgeous lagoon pool villa! The villa is decorated in modern Balinese style with a touch of zen. Just the right mix of tradition and modern which we like. Plus, there were so much space! We even had our own private pool along the exterior of our villa. This private pool can actually open into an olympic size swimming pool if we so desired. Simply unlock the bamboo gate by the pool and voila, we are out in the public pool! All without having to leave our villa.

It rained 3 nights out of the 4 nights we stayed at Furama. So it was bliss just chilling out at the villa in the evening, soaking in the huge bathtub, watching DVDs and calling room service. We read about the poor selection of DVDs in another review so we bought our own DVDs.

Breakfast at the Furama was served ala carte buffet style. We especially love the fried noodles. You can also opt to have breakfast served in the privacy of your own villa at no extra charge. This is what we did on our 4th and 5th day. It's quite a joy having breakfast in the outdoor living area of our villa. So relaxing and tranquil.

The only minor issue that we encountered was on the 3rd night of our stay. It rained so heavily that the ceiling above the desk area started to leak quite badly. Soon there was a puddle of water on the floor. We called the reception of course and they immediately sent their staff to clean up the water and place thick layers of towels on the floor to absorb the dripping water. They offered to shift us to another villa but we declined because it was raining really heavily and we did not wish to get ourselves wet and cold again after a hot bath. 2ndly, we were too lazy to pack everything and unpack them again after we have settled down.

After the staff left, we continued to watch our DVD. Halfway through, there was a blackout. Everything was pitch black and the telephone in the room was not working. We felt helpless for a minute. Then I remember seeing a touch light next to my bed and groped my way to find the touch light. We then used our cell phone to call the reception coz the in-room phone wasn't working.

The lights and electricity came on again for awhile before going off. So again, we called the reception with our cell phone. While waiting for the lights to come on, we decided to call it a night. Afterall, there's nothing much we could do. As the room was abit stuffy without airconditioning, we decided to open the glass door. We presumed it was safe because first, the gate to our villa was locked and there's 24-hour security in the hotel compound.
Anyway, it was kind of nice coz we could feel the cool wind blowing as we dozed off. Shortly, we were awaken by the lights coming on again so we shut the door, turned on the aircon and had a peaceful night's sleep.

The next day, the receptionist apologized for what happened the night before and offered to change us to another villa. By then, we decided that we're not going to change coz it's really too troublesome. Although the ceiling continued to leak the following night when it rained heavily again, the hotel staff has already prepared the floor with thick layers of towels. So we were quite fine actually.

I believe after we left the villa, the hotel will ask the repair man to fix the waterproofing at the roof so that leakage will not occur again for the next guest. So I have no qualms recommending this place.

Overall, we have enjoyed our stay at the FuramXclusive Villas. The hotel ground was beautiful and peaceful and we didn't encounter mosquitoes or that many bugs. Service was consistently warm and friendly and we could see that the staff did their best to make us happy and comfortable.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and bathrooms, beautiful and peaceful environment
  • Disliked — Ceiling leakage and blackout on one night
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FVSUBUD, General Manager at Furama Villas & Spa Ubud, responded to this review, July 28, 2009
Dear Valued Guests,

Greetings from FuramaXclusive Villas and Spa, Ubud!

Thank you for sharing every layer of your experiences during your stay at our hotel and in such upbeat overall reviews for our hotel and services.

In this opportunity I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have during your stay at our Hotel. I can assure you that we always make the effort to note all feedback received in order to better foresee requires of our discerning customers and evolve within the generosity industry.

I do hope that you consider staying with us again on future travels at any occasion; I trust you will send your booking to us in your earliest convenience. It’s really a pleasure to serve you at our hotel and until that day you will send the improvement of our services.

Warmest Regards,
Ramia Adnyana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambal
3.0 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.9 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
2.9 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#4 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
FuramaXclusive Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Villas & Spa Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Villas & Spa Ubud

Property: Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Mambal, Banjar Bindu, Mambal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Mambal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mambal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama Villas & Spa Ubud 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furama Villas & Spa Ubud is nestled amids paddy field in the Desa Bindu district in mountainous Ubud. Covering over 200m2 verdant land. Accesible to the popular artist village of Ubud & art market via the resort's free schedule shuttle service, the Concierge can also arrange for transportation to other tourist attraction based on guest'needs. All in all, the 24-villa collection is designed to draw you into an inviting and memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Furama Villas & Spa Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud Hotel Badung
Furama Villas And Spa Ubud
Furama Hotel Ubud
Ubud Furama Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing