We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch at the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fivelements Bali Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mambal
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch at the river”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We enjoy a great vegetarian lunch during our visit. We were sitting directly at the river…just wow….! The food was creative and nicely presented with fresh ingredients. We also had a hotel tour and for sure next time we will stay for a couple of nights..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    34
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
110
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you are looking for an isolated expensive health and meditation retreat - this place is the perfect place for you. It is truly beautiful, however is not at all about experiencing Bali. It is far from the city, and hence without putting in effort to get out, you are limited to utilising their facilities which are amazingly overpriced. The food is raw vegan food. There is no alcohol either, and coffee was not on the menu. I didn't hear any other guests speaking. It is in essence an expensive, tourist-aimed health retreat which in fact felt very stiffling. Not recommended for those who enjoy non-vegan foods, for those who want a wine with dinner, who do not wish to pay ridiculous prices (Eg: massage for $300 US dollars, which can be bought in Ubud for $10 US dollars) or who want to experience Bali.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing here. The beauty of the rooms and grounds, and the friendly staff cannot be fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Another1_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in Ubud when we picked up an ad for the restaurant which serves both vegeterian and raw food. As my wife loves raw food and the pictures of the restaurant looked promissing we undertook an adventurous ride to fiveelements. It is in the middle of nowhere and didn't know what to expect. When we entered the restaurant we were completely overwhelmed by its beauty. Entirely made of bamboo it has a bar (see picture) near the glass walled kitchen and a huge dining area to service 64 people. There is also a first floor for a more comfortable drink. In the middle of the restaurant there is a pond with Koi and there is also a terras seating area with a view of the river. As it was dark we can only judge the inside. We found ourselves to be the only guests that night but this was most certainly not because of the lack of quality of the food. On the contrary, we took the 5 course Chef discovery menu and were amazed by the richness in colour, flavour and texture of the rawfood dishes that were all acoompanied by their own savoury 'elexir'. In my hometown we unfortunately only have 1 raw food restaurant so I have little to compare to but this for me was a 1 star michelin restaurant. Can't say anything bad about it. The Chef: Made Runatha, learned the tricks of the trade in California where he took class from the reknown raw food cook: Cherrie SoriaMy wife was delighted and found it the best ever she ate. We were spoiled, Cooks and staff all for ourselves in a beautiful setting.

If you are ever in the Ubu area and like vegetarian or raw food, I highly recommend to spend a lunch or dinner here. The chef also provides cooking classes

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xa4traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Thanks Chicco, Lahra, Chef Made and the rest of your amazing family at Fivelements. Mum and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at your beautiful retreat. The food was amazing, the location and surroundings so stunning and peaceful, our treatments luscious and the service so friendly, attentive and helpful. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks again ... you have created an amazing space. With love Jen & Trish xx

Room Tip: We stayed in Apah and loved it. We didn't see inside any other rooms but they all looked lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Living_Synergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

this little spa resort on the edge of the ayung river in the south part of ubud is just a magnificent spa retreat for body and soul. the treatments are just over the top, the entire compuond of the little resort is breathing spirituality and magic of the ancient balinese healing arts.
i've been there this august 2012 and the entire stay has been magic at all levels.
the kitchen of only row vegetarian food is unbelievable, you feel that your body is getting full energy just from the vegetarian world, not even cooked.
the staff, the manager chicco and lahra and the atmosphere gives you a total sense of relax and unity with the universe. i hope everyone can be able to enjoy this special place.
i advice to go with the person you love the most to share the treatment together.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astondb9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are looking for Paradise you've found it!
Peace, serenity, warm welcomes, cleaning, professional SPA, great raw food. An ideal place to regain strength, health, relax + visiting the island.
Very spacious bungalow with open bath + (if you want) soft music everywhere. Very romantic place ideal for a couple but also for a family with babies since it's very secure and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've just left Five Elements after three nights of absolute bliss!

The accomodation is amazing, the food is soooooo good (sweet potato ice-cream!!! Yum!), the treatments were wonderful, and the space itself is beautiful...

Everyone will have their own unique experience and memories from Five Elements, and I'm sure that whatever you take away will be special to you. For me - above all - i'll remember the people who work there!

How many places have you stayed where you become Facebook friends with the people you meet afterwards?! Yes, it's that good! :)

I haven't even left Bali and I'm planning my return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidw1977Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambal
4.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,874 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
5.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#43 of 198 in Ubud
946 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fivelements Bali Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fivelements Bali Retreat

Property: Fivelements Bali Retreat
Address: Puri Ahimsa, Banjar Baturning, Mambal, Ubud 80352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Mambal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mambal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fivelements Bali Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fivelements Bali Retreat is a wellness resort located near Ubud Bali, along the banks of the sacred Ayung River, fifteen minutes drive to centre of ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fivelements Bali Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fivelements Puri Ahimsa Hotel Badung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing