We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
47
5
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harpy eagle great hosts roe nice accommodations san ignacio enjoyed our stay stayed longer robert roads pools rio meals property jungle ford belize grounds
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 53 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip to Belize & stay at an Eco Lodge. We chose to try a different one this time & we are SO GLAD we did!! We spent 8 nights in the Bougainvillea house w/4 adults & 4 kids. Roeni cooked breakfast & dinner everyday & made lunch for 2 of our day trips. We asked for family style (serve yourself) meals instead of plated meals which they did for us & the food was amazing!!! Everything was homemade w/fresh ingredients. Conk was in season while we were there so Roeni made conk soup. We were leery but it wasn't bad. We tried new foods & food we were familiar with but had a delicious Belizean twist.
We traveled from the Lodge to all of our daily excursions. Coming back & visiting with Rob & Roeni while the kids swam in the pool was a highlight of the day. The grounds & houses are well kept and just stunning!
They made sure we had everything we needed & the house was cleaned & linens/towels were changed regularly.
The only downfall is the last road going to it is really bad. But it was worth it to us! Nothing a 4 wheel drive car from Crystal Auto rental can't handle.
If you are looking to stay at an eco lodge I HIGHLY recommend Inn the Bush!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cnjbraune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017

We stayed at Inn the Bush for 4 nights. Our stay was amazing. We loved this property for so many reasons. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners, they made us a cocktail and allowed us to unwind from our drive. They then showed us the house we would be staying in. It was perfect, roomy, clean and the porch was great, what a view. We watched the birds every morning, we even saw a toucan. Roni is a great cook and we ate breakfast here every morning and had dinner once. She is very accomadating for special dietary needs as well. One day we lounged and played in the pool, another day we had them set up the ATM Cave tour for us (which we highly recommend), another day we drove to 2 sets of ruins and the 4th day we drove to Rio on the Pools and had a pizza lunch at Frances Ford Coppala's resort about a 45 minute drive away. We hiked on the expansive property of the Inn and my husband went for runs out on the road every morning. This place is special, our 5 year old loved it too. It's far enough from town that you feel like your really staying in the jungle, yet close enough to go in for lunch, dinner or the many activities near back. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrandyeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

This is an amazing property run by a wonderful family in a truly beautiful part of Belize that is relatively unknown. I would assume a majority of people that visit Belize stick to the cayes and coastlines. We were fortunate enough to stay half of our 10 day trip at, Inn the Bush Eco Lodge before heading to San Pedro. We could not be more grateful we stumbled upon Roeni and Rob's amazing place.

First, the property is"off the beaten path" which adds to its allure. Its completely secluded 2 miles off a highway on a jungle road. It provides quietness in a pristine jungle but is also in a convenient location close to many natural attractions. We utilized Rob and Roeni's great knowledge of the area. We had a rental chose to go off on our own(always felt at ease) and spent 2 days exploring the Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, host to river pools, waterfalls, caves and Mayan Ruins. That was just a small piece of what the area has to offer. Rob and Roeni, have preferred contacts for guided tours to all the local attractions.

Whether you like adventure or relaxation, Inn at the Bush offers both. Roeni and Rob have created a small Boutique-Style Eco-resort,run by solar power and rain water, in the middle of the Belizean Mountain Jungle. The grounds are meticulous and tasteful, merging the resort with the natural flora and fauna of the jungle. Many species of birds are prevalent. There is a beautiful pool, eating area, small bar; all communal. The cottages are phenomenal, where craftsmanship and quality were paramount; again refreshing, spacious and comfortable. We felt welcome, at peace and at home. The value of this place is incredible!

Last but certainly not least is Ro's cooking. She prepared breakfast and dinner each day. We could not have been more impressed. She utilizes fresh fruits, vegetables (some which are grown on-site) and meats to create a delicious-authentic Belizean meals. Each one was unique and equally delicious! She is amazing! Again the value is incredible, 5-star meals at a great price!

We have traveled extensively through the Caribbean and Latin America. It is not often we are as thoroughly impressed with a property as we were with Inn the Bush. Again it has so much to offer at a great value. Its a beautiful property run by a great family in an amazing part of the country, I would be remiss to not pass this information along. This place is accommodating; whether you are traveling as a family, friends or couples both young and old. If you want a unique, authentic Belizean Mountain-Jungle vacation off the beaten path at a beautiful, quaint Eco-resort; you won't be disappointed!! If its available I would urge you to book, as the sterling reviews continue to pour in, it may become more difficult to find an opening. Cheers and enjoy!!!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Inn the Bush for three nights in January. We were upgraded to the Bougainvillea cabin, which has two bedrooms, a spacious living area, and a huge bathroom with an open air shower. Everything was very clean and comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to bring earplugs, as there are lots of jungle sounds at night.

Roeni and Rob were excellent hosts, very friendly and easygoing. They are very knowledgeable about things to do in the area. I am a vegetarian and Roeni made delicious meals for us every day. All the food was amazing.

The grounds are beautiful and well-kept. The best part is how quiet and low-key it is. When we arrived, all the cabins were full, but that only meant that there were six couples total, including us. Such a nice change from loud, busy resorts. If you are going to the interior of Belize you can't go wrong with Inn the Bush. Loved the four dogs on the property as well!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank erinrG4993VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

My family (kids ages 8-20) thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at Inn the Bush. We rented 2 of their 3 luxurious cabins. The owners seemed to anticipate all of our needs and if there was anything I asked for, it was taken care of. For example, 2 of my kids were flying in later than the rest of us, and the owner arranged transport from the airport for me. As stated in other reviews, Roeni's food can't be beat. We ate every dinner and breakfast prepared by her. One morning we had an early tour and she prepared us breakfast burritos "to-go". It was the best thing I had ever tasted! It would be worth returning just to eat another one.
Some things we didn't expect, for example you HAVE TO conserve energy and water. It's all solar powered up there. We pretended we were "Glamping" and had a great time with it. It was a good opportunity for our kids to learn about conservation out of necessity, not because it's the "in thing."
Although WIFI is advertised it's not at all powerful or dependable. That was problem because my college student had assignments he couldn't complete because had been planning to use their advertised WIFI. Same with the advertised laundry facility...It's at the owners house and they will do a load if you ask and pay, but don't plan on doing all your family's wash on vacation.
The owner's teenage kids are great. They ran around with my teens and all had a super time. I don't think we could've picked a better place to stay. If you love nature but want a bit of luxury, this place is perfect!

Room tip: Sleep with the windows open and hope for a rainstorm.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelMama30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews