We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great choice of dishes. Sunday Carvery is superb. The food is delicious, hot and a good variety of vegetables. The Staff are polite, helpful and professional. The location (even on a showery day) is magnificent. Would definitely appeal to walkers/ramblers or anyone who wants to chill out and enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    98
    48
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lightwater Uk
Level Contributor
308 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great place to go for a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Firstly the positives, a great traditional English country pub, wonderful interior, with a cosy open fire and a pleasant welcome. The food and drinks are average priced, we had a steak pie and a fish pie. The fish pie was burnt on the bottom and the meat in the steak pie was tough and tasteless. I would visit again as the whole experience was positive, and that we may have just been unlucky with the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Many thanks for your review, and for pointing out the problem, It is extremely rare that we have problems with a meal, and i am pleased that you have brought it to our attention, We go to great lengths to source best quality local ingredients, we also check every customer to make sure you were satisfied with your meal, so I have to assume that you made us aware at the time, and a member of our team took appropriate action,
We are pleased you have the confidence to come back, and we will make sure you are looked after, and your meals are served to your satisfaction, Please ask for maurice or matthew when you make your next reservation, that we can ensure you have a memorable dining experience,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Homely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went with friends recently to this homely olde world pub in the Purbecks. A nice warm welcome and we were seated straight away. There is a large menu with lots of choice including fresh fish but we all opted for the carvery. The food we had was 'old fashioned real food' which we all enjoyed . With sweets and a bottle of wine it came to twenty pounds per head which we thought was at the top end for what we got, but as we all know everything keeps going up!!.We would all go back to the New Inn so give it a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrssilversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife & I had a most enjoyable two course Saturday lunch with good service sitting next to the glowing fire. Each course was freshly cooked, plentiful and very tasty. we will return again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baronscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Late Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Reserved our table in the morning for late lunch. Arrived to find the pub packed and our table tucked in a corner. We wanted the roast which was a carvery. A wide range of vegetables on offer and a choice of lamb or pork. Unfortunately, some of the vegetables had run out, but they did bring us a fresh dish of carrots as they were still available in the kitchen. The meat was of a high standard and all tasted good. We were too full to try the puddings but will hopefully do so on another visit. Very pleasant staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Kimmeridge, Dorset
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing