We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Machias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Talbot House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 East Machias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great hosts”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here shortly after it opened and was really pleased with what I found. Liz and Michel have loving restored this mansion in beautiful downeast Maine. My room was on 2nd floor, front left looking out. It was large, comfortably furnished and very quiet. The bathroom was also quite spacious with big, fluffy towels and higher end soap, etc. Both were spotless! The only small negative is its location but that applies only if you are on a motorcycle, which I was, and want to walk to dinner. Otherwise, E Machias is a perfect spot from which to explore far downeast Maine. Liz and Michael quickly solved that problem by inviting me to join them for dinner. With that in mind, it is easy to say that they are wonderful hosts. Both dinner and breakfast were tasty and substantial. And, both were enhanced by our conversation.

I am a real fan and will certainly look forward to an opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
43
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The Talbot House Inn is spectacular... this historic home has been renovated to perfection, the delightful innkeeper, Liz, prepares the best blueberry pancakes I have ever had, and the rooms were beautiful and immaculate... we will be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank downeasthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Owner at The Talbot House Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We thank you for such a wonderful review! We (and the inn) may not be perfect but we think the inn is special! Thanks to all who take the time to write a review! - Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely decorated home. Comfortable beds, what I loved is the Inn keeper, Liz and the beautiful breakfast. She was helpful in telling us all about the area. It is a beautiful town. I just missed the blueberry festiville. But I did buy some blueberries and am enjoying them. Liz will let you know some of the great places to eat. Went to the light house. Take a passport and visit Canada.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 114Francine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Machias
4.7 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.3 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.5 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbot House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot House Inn

Property: The Talbot House Inn
Address: 509 Main St, Corner of Rte 1 & 191N, East Machias, ME 04630-4044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > East Machias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Machias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot House Inn has 5 Bedrooms ALL with private baths! It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It was built in 1771 & 1874 but renovated for 4 years prior to it's opening in July 2012. Our inn will open in April, weather permitting. We may open for groups by reservation prior to April. Just give us a call! Our Antique & Gift Shop is open Fri.- Sun. from May 30th through Columbus Day weekend (or by appointment). Book a small function in the inn with or without singing waiters! We are located 4 miles north of Machias on Hwy 1 at the corner of Rte 1 and Rte 191! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Talbot House Inn East Machias, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing