We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for - and then some!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Machias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 East Machias B&B and Inns
Central Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Just what we were looking for - and then some!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

The hosts were friendly, personable and accommodating, the view was picturesque, the room was cozy, the atmosphere relaxing, but the food was spectacular! This was our first time staying at a B&B so we can't compare it to anything, but it truly was what we wanted out of our mini-vacation: relaxing and indulgent. Seriously, the food was out of this world and so unexpected in the boonies of East Machias. Luckily there was a riverside trail right out the back door to work off the glorious breakfasts and dinners. The food was pricier than I expected, but well worth every penny! Kudos to the award-winning chef! Plus there were a few nice day trips we made from there to sight see and hike. The only slightly negative thing I could say about this place, in my opinion, is that the room decorating was a bit hokey and overwhelming (as far as colors and prints). Yes, East Machias is a little out of the way, but that's what we were looking for - we went for the ride as much as for the location. Will stay there again as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank left47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

Comfortable accommodations, gracious hosts, outstanding food, very highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birder124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the Riverside Inn for two nights recently. The inn is in a wonderful location overlooking the river where you can see eagles flying from the dining room and the porches. It is quiet and picturesque. The owners are friendly and accomodating (making breakfast at 6 a.m. since we needed to leave early for a puffin cruise). Breakfast (included with the room) is delicious and you have a variety to choose from. Dinner in the restaurant (reservation required) is outstanding. We reserved ahead of time for our first night and it was so delicious that we added the second night as well. Service in the restaurant was friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and large. The TV was very small, but we weren't really there to watch TV. For those who want to spend significant time watching TV, it would be a drawback. For us, the location, food and friendly service were enough to highly recommend the Riverside Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

It took about a 6 or 7 hours drive to arrive at the Riverside. I enjoyed watching civilization slip away until we arrived in a downpour
to discover 1) they'd overbooked, but the good news was we were upgraded to a suite that overlooked the river, and 2) a storm had knocked out the power.

Rocky was as calm as could be cooking by candle. hehe. We decided to have dinner there and while it took a while, it was really superb.

The room was in the adjacent building and was like a doll's house. There's a deck overlooking the river that drew me out there at 4 a.m. (the sun came up quite early) to listen to the loons (I think) and watch the eagles being harrassed by some crows. Very lovely. We missed
breakfast and couldn't enjoy the Riverside as much as we would have liked since we left bright and early to get to Cutler for a Puffin Cruise that was also magnificent. Rocky put together a bag of bagels, cream cheese, jam, fruit and water so we'd have something to eat at that godawful hour that we had to wake up. :)

Lovely, quick, visit. Worth a re-visit. Driving the surrounding road into Cutler was really beautiful.

  • Liked — the deck, the meal
  • Disliked — not having much time to enjoy
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

Located on the river, immaculately clean, decorated with local Victorian antiques, with friendly and helpful staff, and close to many historic and scenic destinations, the Riverside Inn was a great mini-vacation. The facility is pleasant and the food is outstanding!
Guests choose, the previous night, from a large choice of breakfasts.
The blueberry-stuffed French toast is unusual and really good. Dinners, by reservation, are superb in variety and sophistication, prepared by the owners and served by a knowledgeable wait-staff. Of particular merit were the salmon stuffed with shrimp and crab, and the choclate cake filled with coconut and served with raspberries. These sound a bit 'over-the-top, but in both flavor and presentation are five-star.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank singularity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights last week. The owner, Ellen, is a nice woman as is Rocky (he does the cooking). The house overlooks the Machias River, I saw a bald eagle at breakfast, don't see that in New York. The bed was comfortable, the room was nice, bathroom was huge. Only complaint, minor, is that some stations on the TV didn't come in too well. It's a good location if you are going on the Puffin Tour out of Cutler, which was fun. If I'm ever that far downeast again, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Machias
4.2 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
13.3 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: U.S. Route #1, East Machias, ME 04630
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > East Machias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Machias
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Inn East Machias, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing