We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three Luxurious Days”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three Luxurious Days”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We checked into the Ocean Point Inn amid very friendly and courteous staff. Our spacious room and balcony overlooked the ocean, with boats and lobster buoys bobbing. We had two queen-size beds, a large bath and there was an extra sink plus refrigerator in the room. There were two comfortable cushioned chairs and good lighting for reading. The Inn is located at the tip of a peninsula and we fell asleep to the sounds of the sea outside our door. A delicious buffet breakfast was offered each day (slight charge over the free continental). The Inn also offers restaurant and pub menus. We were both very satisfied with our dinner on the one night we dined at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nordiclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    97
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
79
197
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was our third visit to OPI. We enjoy the cottages of Seaward and Seakist for the privacy and space. However there are many types of accomodations to choose from. The closeness to Linekin Bay with all the activity on the water is very relaxing. From watching lobster boats and water fowl in the morning to relaxing on the front porch with your favorite beverage in the evening is great. You will wish you could stay the season.
The owners and the staff always make you feel at home and will work with you on any needs you may have if at all possible. There are many things to see and do in the East Boothbay area and only a few minutes ride to Boothbay Harbor for shopping and eating. However if you just want to stay, the restaurant facility and bar is very good.
If you want to see some of coastal Maine, stay at OPI and make all they day trips you desire. Oh yes, and if you like to look for sea glass this is a good place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We have stayed at Ocean Point inn for a total of 11 different weeks dating back to 1997. We love Seward Cottage, Sea Kist Duplex and the Penthouse. OPI is what one would think of as he/she brings to mind a lovely inn in Maine.We have brought and or recommended OPI to both friends and relatives. There is something about sitting in the Adirondeck chairs or gathering sea glass on the rocky shore just a few feet from your cottage that just cannot be equaled at other places. You are close enough to bustling Boothbay Harbor to reach it within 10 minutes and yet the quietness of Ocean Point makes the busy areas seem many miles away. The Inn is over 100 yeras old and as I sit on the porch of of one of the Motel rooms or cottages, watching the working lobster boats and hear the sound of Ram Island Lighthouse, I am taken back in time and think about the Maine slogan---The Way Life Should Be!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert55884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Ocean Point Inn and had a fabulous time! The location can't be beat. It's at the end of a point and rarely does a car even drive by. You can sit outside in Adirondack chairs right on the ocean and watch the ducks or watch lobstermen doing their work. Or just read a book. Very relaxing. Our small queen room was in the lodge and had a direct view of the ocean. The room itself was exactly what I was expecting of a 110-year-old property. A little old fashioned and rustic. However, it was really spotlessly clean and comfortable. The shower was new and they had nice toiletries.

Check-in was easy and all the staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast looked good but we did the $6 upgrade for the full breakfast buffet. Money well spent. Fresh raspberry and blueberry muffins were delicious! We did eat dinner in their restaurant one night and ordered off the Tavern menu. Very good quality and tasty food. All in our party were happy with what they ordered. Very nice view of the ocean from the restaurant also.

Didn't get to use the pool or hot tub while we were there but they looked well maintained.

This Inn is not in Boothbay Harbor which was good for us. It's about a 15 minute drive into Boothbay Harbor. If you want to be in the center of the action, I would suggest staying right in Boothbay Harbor. We enjoyed visiting the action for a little while and then going back to this lovely and quiet Inn to watch the sun go down.

Not sure when we will make it back to Maine but when we do, we definitely will stay at Ocean Point again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

The location is the most beautiful place to wake up to in the morning. Words can't describe the fog horn sounds in the night, or the lobstermen starting their boats early in the morning. We come here in September about every other year, walk and walk, and ride around just looking at the views. We have discovered practically every cove in the Booth Bay area. Ocean Point Inn is our idea of the perfect New England vacation spot. It's old, white clapboard, cottagy with shutters, flowers, rocks, and a beautiful swimming pool and spa. The restaurant is superb. You can sit in the Adirondack style chairs gazing at the ocean. We have done a walking tour looking at the 100 year old architecture in East Booth Bay on the winding walk near the Inn. Nothing seems to change. That's where we were on 9/11. It was the last day of our vacation that year. That's not the best memory to have, and yet, we have been back several times since taking our side trips to Pemequid Pt. Light House, Richardson's Wharf, and other gems of the Booth Bay Region. I'm glad we have Ocean Point Inn on our list of Best Places to Stay Anywhere in the World. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keukahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Inn has a great location but the smell in the hallways was too much to deal with so we had to leave . The free continental breakfast was not free.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainah, General Manager at Ocean Point Inn and Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
This guest checked out early for claimed personal reasons and only latter made this claim. No other guest has made this complaint in this unit. If a guest comes to us with a problem we will always adjust things until they are pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Ocean Point Inn is a place for people who want to totally relax and/or share quiet times
with family or friends. It is 111 years old, so if you require shiny & new you won't be happy here. This place has pros & cons, but I found the pros outweighed the cons.
The Inn sits on Linekin Bay and we had a great water view from our room in the Main
Building. Families stay in cottages located along the water on the grounds and all
the guests seemed to be having a great time in spite of the drenching rain we had that
day. You can sit along the sea wall with a good book and watch boats and the storybook setting across the bay. The restaurant and Tavern were very nice and all takes you back
to a time when life was simpler. On the other hand, there are not alot of amenities here.
There was no hook in the bathroom to hang a robe. There once was, but it was gone.
Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable. The A/C worked well and
there was TV, but don't look for luxuries. This is a quaint, comfortable, relaxing place
that is perfect for people who like a trip back to an old fashioned holiday. You will love
the staff, they could not have been nicer or more willing to help. We paid $175.00 AAA for
a King room in the main Inn. There is no elevator, so you have to climb one flight of
outside stairs with your luggage yourself. The cottages look nice, although I did not seem inside them. The road that runs along the water is gorgeous and has some lovely
mansions right on the ocean- makes for a great scenic drive away from the more
busy Boothbay Harbor area. It can get a little boring if you need more to do, but if you
want a nice simple relaxing time- check out Ocean Point Inn. By the way, there is not
a sand beach here- just a rocky promintory-but that is true of this part of Maine everywhere. In closing, at Ocean Point Inn, the water view from our room #2 was wonderful- all ocean/bay with all the trimmings, the Inn sits right on the water. There is a dock you can walk out on to snap photos of the surroundings and watching the waves crash on shore made the stay more than worthwhile. Thanks, Ocean Point Inn, for a lovely stay. By the way, you can see a lighthouse from your room !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
2.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Address: 191 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 409, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544-6429
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn and Resort with Inn, Lodge, Motel and Cottage lodging options. The majority of guest rooms enjoy direct ocean views of the islands, lighthouses and boats. Many rooms with decks offering stunning sunsets. All accommodations have private bath, mini-fridge, phone, cable TV, and AC/heat. Some with gas fireplaces. Oceanfront dining featuring local seafood, lobster, and more with beautiful sunset vistas. Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Free Wifi. We also have 2 Tesla charging stations and one generic charging station which are free for OPI guests and available for a nominal fee for non-guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Hotel East Boothbay
Ocean Point Inn And Resort Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing