We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Gables Comes Through Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Gables Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Boothbay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Five Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Five Gables Comes Through Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

After having enjoyed the Five Gables Inn every September for a number of years, we invited my wife's brother and his wife to join us this time. We had been so effusive in our praise of the Inn that they came with very high expectations and, as we knew would happen, their expectations were met and exceeded. The gourmet breakfasts, the friendliness and helpfullness of the owners, Mike and De and of innkeeper Lisa, the tea and cookies in the afternoon, the Port and chocolates in the evening, and the spotlessly clean and comfortable accommodations combine to make this our favorite New England Inn. It's so nice to be able to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Boothbay Harbor and yet be close enough that it's just a short drive to the shops and restaurants. We can't wait till next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rag714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We had a very nice weekend get-a-way in Boothbay Harbor, and very much enjoyed staying at the Five Gables Inn. Mike and De are outstanding hosts who create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, and the inn is very clean and comfortable. Nice touches abound. Also recommended: sailing on the Schooner Eastwind in Boothbay Harbor, and visiting the Maine Coastal Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We wanted to give our grown daughters a taste of how charming Maine can be, so selected this Inn as our first stop after the airport arrival. It was a great choice--the rooms are lovely, the afternoon refreshments and the relaxing porch chairs set the mood. Mike offered to make a special breakfast dish to suit my lo-carb diet, but I was glad to try the wonderful assortment of hot and cold dishes he had planned. De offered to book an island boat trip for the next day, and Lisa set us up with supper options. We all wished we had more than two nights to spend in this haven and definitely will return.
The Sneed family, Orlando

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneed-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

This inn is located overlooking the harbor in East Boothbay. Room 14 is great with a beautiful fireplace setting and view of the water. The breakfast was absolutely terrific. The proximity to the newly expanded Maine Botanical Gardens is a real plus. The innkeepers are very nice and professional. Afternoon tea and cookies were a nice plus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkostrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest Il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

When I first got here and found out they did not have AC OR TV, I was very disappointed. Thought I had done better research. But turns out it was our favorite place to stay(did 3 B&Bs on vacation). We were lucky that temperature was in the low 80s. It was secluded, and had a wonderful view off the front porch of the bay.They provided books and puzzles. It seemed more relaxed. The hosts were wonderful, made boat reservations for us and recommended several good places to eat. The breakfasts were very good and varied every day. So nice to sit on the porch and eat enjoying the ocean breezes. Very close to the Pier where we took the boat to Monhegan Island for the day. We enjoyed this part of Maine much more than Portland or Kennebunk. Not touristy except down at the Pier.Swimming off the dock.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestIlPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

My sister, mom, and a dear friend had the pleasure of staying at Five Gables Inn this past week. It was such a wonderful, delightful surprise to drive down this Maine road hugging the coastline and come upon The Five Gables Inn. The Inn is beautiful, great location overlooking a beautiful bay, a big porch with great sitting and a hammock. The innkeepers (Mike and De) are delightful and really make every guest feel special. The welcome ice tea and homemade brownies were a great welcome with a pleasant front desk person (Lisa). We sat on the porch and just enjoyed the view and time together. In the morning the homemade breakfast was delicious----Mike and De made sure everyone enjoyed their morning. We met a few guests who have returned year after year- and we understand why. The rooms are designed comfortably and with great care and attention to detail. All the staff we met were very nice. It is a wonderful treat to stay at such a special place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful experience here. The common area is spacious and beautiful. We enjoyed reading in the evening by the fire, sipping a complimentary glass of Madeira. The owners -- Mike and Dee could not be nicer -- and they served the best breakfast we have ever had. The Inn looks out onto a peaceful bay and is the perfect getaway, particularly for a couple of city dwellers.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
2.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn

Property: Five Gables Inn
Address: 107 Murray Hill Road, PO Box 335, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking with the blissful feeling that your room resembles a Maine cottage overlooking a picturesque bay. Scenic and Serene East Boothbay is a 200 year old village just 5 minutes from Boothbay Harbor, Maine, though you will feel light years away. Here we enjoy peaceful mornings on the inns porch, no traffic passing by, and a view of the lobster boats bobbing in the harbor. Yet a short five minute drive puts you in the middle of Boothbay Harbor with windjammers, trips to Monhegan Island, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, lobster eating, galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Gables Inn Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing