We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

In July, 2006, my wife and I stayed for four nights at Five Gables Inn. I can't say enough good things about the Inn and its owners. The location is perfect, in East Boothbay, a quiet town with the Inn located directly on an ocean cove. Inn owners De and Mike Kennedy engage in conversation, but only if desired, never intrusive. Both identify sites of interest and make reservations for guests. Mike is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America which means the breakfasts are both creative and tasty. This is the only B&B I have visited where the guests all appear before the breakfast is served. They check out the menu for new and favorite items and chat over coffee before the breakfast is served. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
120
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

We just stayed at the Five Gables Inn for our third time. The owners, De and Mike are terrific. The Inn is a delightful place to stay. The rooms are all different and there is a good choice of room types. The breakfasts are incredible. Mike and De go out of their way for their guests and are caring, wonderful people. The Inn overlooks Linekin Bay and has a wonderful wrap-around porch which is ideal for breakfast or socializing. We loved it and plan to return on our next trip to Maine.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank joan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2005

It's such a lovely inn that you almost don't want to leave. The breakfast is astounding and the innkeepers are very friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotless. Made boothbay a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snwong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2004

Very nice, warm inn. We especially enjoyed eating the hot buffet breakfast out on the deck in the sunshine. We stayed in Room 3 which was very attractive, but very tiny. A large person would not have room to squeeze past the bathroom door. Overall, the experience was very pleasant and we would stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dealsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2004

Walking through the front door gives you an immediate feeling of New England bliss -- warm and welcoming in every respect. We spent two wonderful days and nights there in late September.

De and Mike Kennedy are precious people who are among the lucky few in this life to truly have found their calling. Their inn is so inviting, so relaxing, so peaceful, you don't want to leave.

Although our room (#3) was on the small side -- we knew that going in -- it was quite comfy, and the fireplace certainly compensated for the lack of real estate. The bed was to our liking, and the fact that there was no television was to our liking even more. Vacations are for releasing from life's everyday clutches, and being forced to get away from the TV is one of the best ways to escape.

Breakfast on the porch overlooking Linekin Bay is a postcard experience. Mike's food is wonderful and it is served with a smile.

The sherry and port, along with cholocate, made early evenings a memorable experience around the fireplace.

The inn sits on the quiet side of Boothbay Harbor -- and if you are staying in the area for any length of time, you'll appareciate that. It's a quick 8- to 10-minute drive to the "action," and a good walk to the quaint country store and a good seafood restaurant nearby.

Our next trip to Maine will include a stay at The Five Gables Inn. That is, if we can get a room. They can be tough to come by. We now know why.

Helpful?
3 Thank TVSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2004

While we only spent one night here in July 2004, we would highly recommend this Inn. The location is tranquil - the Inn has a gorgeous wrap around porch overlooking the harbor. The interiors are very pretty and well maintained -- it oozes New England charm. The innkeepers are lovely, friendly, and so helpful. The breakfast was delicious, and one feels very comfortable just hanging around the inn. We had two rooms - both were cozy, clean, and very comfortable. This part of Boothbay is the quiet side, and much nicer in ambiance than the main town.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2004

We have dear friends of long standing in the Boothbay area and have been visiting for thirty or more years. However, when our friends passed 80, we realized that we were should no longer accept their invitation to stay at their home. So we began hunting for other accommodations.

None of our choices was bad; but nothing drew us back for a second season ... until we discovered the Five Gables Inn.

I am not sure if this will be our fifth or sixth, or perhaps seventh, visit. And I did not write this review until I was sure that we had our reservations for this summer nailed down! In other words, we love this place.

The rooms, except for #14, which we have named the penthouse, are rather small but beautifully decorated; several have fireplaces, a nice touch on a spring or fall evening. The beds are quite comfortable; the baths are very nicely done. (Many) guests, including us, have been known to hoard the cucumber soaps: it goes like this -- after the first night, you put the used item in your kit bag; the next day a fresh soap appears, which you put in your suitcase; then you fish out the one from the night before, which has lots of life left in it, and continue the cycle until you have a nice stash to take home. Or, alternatively, you can purchase extra bars at a very reasonable price .. but what's the fun in that?

And fun is Mike's breakfasts (inventive and delicious) and De's teapots. On our summer days, I don't think we have ever not been able to take breakfast out on the porch.

And the evening sherry is also appreciated.

For several years, there was a TV in the living room -- but that has disappeared: as my husband remarked, "Within two hours of checking in, we are checking out." Not physically; we just go into another (calmer) gear.

My only complaint is that the orange juice is not freshly squeezed. I really don't understand this, given the quality of the rest of the breakfast. The OJ is not "from concentrate," but it is out of a carton.
This is the only negative of the Five Gables Inn that I have been able to find after all these years.

No dinner is served but there is a good restaurant within (long) walking distance, and many others are only a short drive away.

In other words, Five Gables is a great place with great people, and it is great fun. Since we discovered it, we have not looked elsewhere in the area. Mike and De, the owners, have not only become our hotelliers, they have become our friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
2.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn

Property: Five Gables Inn
Address: 107 Murray Hill Road, PO Box 335, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking with the blissful feeling that your room resembles a Maine cottage overlooking a picturesque bay. Scenic and Serene East Boothbay is a 200 year old village just 5 minutes from Boothbay Harbor, Maine, though you will feel light years away. Here we enjoy peaceful mornings on the inns porch, no traffic passing by, and a view of the lobster boats bobbing in the harbor. Yet a short five minute drive puts you in the middle of Boothbay Harbor with windjammers, trips to Monhegan Island, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, lobster eating, galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Gables Inn Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing