We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Lovely”
Review of Five Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2008

This was our first trip to Maine and we were lucky to have chosen Five Gables Inn. Even though we visited during torrential rainfall we certainly enjoyed our stay. The fireplace had a roaring fire when we arrived and throughout the weekend. The nicest lady was there to meet us the evening we arrived. I believe her name was Lisa. She was very helpful in getting us settled after a long day's journey and recommending a dinner location. The breakfast was delicious both mornings and even though it was raining we ate on the beautiful wrap around porch. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the inn, but did miss having an optional tv room. Access to the weather channel would have been helpful in our touring plans.
We were in room #5, it was on the second floor and had a nice view of the bay from the window. I enjoyed the fact that the windows could be raised. It was so peaceful listening to the rain.
The room was clean and had a cozy feel. We did not like the bed..it was very uncomfortable. It was very firm and even my husband who prefers firm mattresses said it was uncomfortable. The bathroom was small, but very functional. The shower had fabulous water pressure. The landscaping was so lovely and the inn is on a quiet street. Across the street is a public dock. A nice area to take a stroll. Mike was helpful with our sightseeing plans. The inn was very clean throughout. We enjoyed seeing the old pictures of the inn on the wall.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beachcomber87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2008

Great hosts Mike and Dee, beautiful inn, great view, superb food, and great value. What else is there? Just go.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank OpSup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My first ever stay at a B&B was a wonderful one. Was in the Boothbay area for a long wknd/family vacation. Love Maine and have been all over, but not yet to Boothbay so the folks picked out a short bike trip in the area.

The Five Gables Inn is a classic B&B. Immaculately clean and very charming. The rooms are small, but nicely designed and have comfy beds and small private bathrooms. The living room is very nice, with tea put out in the afternoon, and after-dinner drinks at night. The breakfasts are delicious and so fresh and the general vibe is one of a serene getaway, very quiet and relaxing. Only downside is that there isn't much land on the property to sprawl out on, and while I usually like to get away from the TV on vacation, this trip was during the Olympics and had there been at least one small TV somewhere I would have enjoyed seeing Michael Phelps swim into history.

Also note that the inn is a little isolated at the end of a dead-end street several miles away from Boothbay Harbor where most of the restaurants and activity are.

Ocean Point (6 miles down Route 27 from the inn) is one of the most beautiful coastlines I've ever seen. Truly special.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank gahlisary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Five Gables Inn during a recent trip to Maine. It has a wonderful location on a quiet cove just east of Boothbay Harbor. The views from the Inn were lovely and breakfast on the front porch was a perfect way to start the day. Our room was plainly but nicely decorated, and the bed was a bit below the quality of others on our trip, but the in-room fireplace made up for it. The Inn itself is beautiful and spotlessly clean, and lots of folks make use of the first floor public areas to read, talk, or just hang out with Mike or De. These may be the two most interesting B&B owners / hosts that we have ever met. Mike prepares the most incredible breakfasts, hands down. The "Fun Doctor" never steered us wrong and always took time to make sure we had a memorable experience. I would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobschmenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Five Gables is one of the nicest and cleanest B&Bs I've stayed at. It's located about 3 miles outside the downtown area of Boothbay Harbor, on a dead-end street across from the bay. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and the area is very quiet, athough I couldn't believe the number of locals out and about on this quiet street - walking dogs, BBQing, etc.

The inn itself has a huge front porch with tables and a hammock. This was the perfect place to eat breakfast in the mornings. Now that I've mentioned the breakfasts, they were 5-star, with homemade pastries, breads, frittatas, fruit salads, french toast and more.

The inkeepers, Mike and De, were really helpful in terms of giving recommendations of what to do, see and where to eat. They keep menus, books and maps in the main lobby, which was helpful since this was our first time in the region.

More on the lobby - comfortable chairs, a full library, daily papers, a fireplace and warm interior decorations (shells, interesting bottles, bird sculptures and more!) At 3 PM everyday, tea and the most amazing cookies are served and sit out until dinnertime. After dinner, chocolates and cordials come out. Never a shortage of yummy treats at this place!

The halls of the B&B are neatly decorated, with antiques and picture frames. Rooms are on the small side, but are extremely clean.

The only negative - the mattress was very hard and I didn't find it comfortable at all, but I guess it must have been good for my back...or so they say.

Five Gables is an incredibly relaxing place to stay. Great value, food, management and location. Hopefully I'll get the chance to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl92, Owner at Five Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

We have since added memory foam to all of our beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We traveled with two couples for ten days through Maine, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. We all agreed that this was the best place we stayed! The breakfast was supurb, the place is very friendly. The only negative was that the guys didn't have a TV for football and the beds were hard. Will go back if visiting again and recommend to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seekmyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

After much research online, we booked room #3, a charming, pink, first floor room for two nights in September. The is a great time of year to visit Boothbay Harbor. Daytime temps in the 70s-80s and 40s-50s in the evening. The summer crowds had pretty much gone from the area. The inn is located on a pretty dead end street facing Linekin Bay. The property is attractively landscaped, and the buildings are well cared for both inside and out. We found it spotless (no peeling paint, no mold, no mildew, no spider webs, no holes in the screens). The inn keepers have great taste in decor - it's bright, charming, whimsical, attractive, colorful, but still quiet and unobtrusive. Each room has it's own climate control. We used the baseboard electric heat at night and it was quiet and fast. There is a separate baseboard heater in the bathroom. Our room was small (no closet, just some pegs on the wall and a small cabinet to hang a few shirts in). The bed in this room is a platform bed (a VERY firm bed with no spring to it) with two drawers underneath for storage and a large space at the end to stow suitcases, but if you have very large suitcases or are large people, this room will feel tight to you. We found the bathroom very clean and attractive with marble counter top sink, but it's very narrow, and you have to step back several feet to swing open the door. The room had two windows opening onto the porch, a chair, a fireplace with a log already in it ready to use, good lighting, and a view of Linekin Bay. They rope off the porch at night so it's quiet. The only noise we heard was someone snoring in room #2, and someone running the water/flushing in one of the other rooms. The people who seem to stay at this inn are generally very quiet outdoorsy/bookish types. There is a nice library off the common room with a great selection of books and magazines. There is no TV in the common room. It's a very serene place. Breakfast is delicious and you can eat out on the porch and enjoy the view: fresh cut fruit, muselli, fat free vanilla yogurt, homemade granola, spicy spoonbread, crab crepes, bloody mary "soup", blueberry coffee cake, biscuits, plum tart, gran marnier orange blintzes, homemade bread... it's all yummy and served hot. We really can't complain, but if we had our way, we would have preferred that breakfast go a bit lighter on the sugar. After breakfast, you can walk 10 minutes to the general store (newspapers, donuts and more breakfast items, sandwiches, wine, crackers and cheese, and some basic vacation home necessities). The store is closed on Mondays. There is a public landing on Murray Hill Road from which you can launch your kayak. There is a public dock as well, across the street from the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranolaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
1.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
544 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#3 of 3 in East Boothbay
47 reviews
2.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn

Address: 107 Murray Hill Road, PO Box 335, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range: $176 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking with the blissful feeling that your room resembles a Maine cottage overlooking a picturesque bay. Scenic and Serene East Boothbay is a 200 year old village just 5 minutes from Boothbay Harbor, Maine, though you will feel light years away. Here we enjoy peaceful mornings on the inns porch, no traffic passing by, and a view of the lobster boats bobbing in the harbor. Yet a short five minute drive puts you in the middle of Boothbay Harbor with windjammers, trips to Monhegan Island, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, lobster eating, galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Gables Inn Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing