We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing place!”
Review of Five Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family stayed at Five Gables for 3 nights and would have liked to stay longer. The setting is lovely with a wrap around porch overlooking the spectacular bay! Breakfasts were fantastic and varied each morning. Around 3 in the afternoon they serve tea and homemade cookies. Susan and Steve were happy to recommend restaurants and things to do in the area. We felt like we were at home! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Can't say enough good about this beautiful, peaceful, charming and wonderful place!
First the location is spectacular - overlooking a cove, from the sprawling front porch you can sit and watch boats, see Linkekin Bay lined with charming cottages and trees. No other tourists in view aside from those staying at the inn, a few people walking their dogs, some small boat activity - that's it.

Our room(s) were lovely. We had to book 2 different rooms, as there was not any one room available for both our nights - but I thought it worth the slight inconvenience. Our bags were hauled up the steps for us while we were out and about - no effort on our part. The rooms were small - yes that is true, but extremely adorable and charming. The decor afforded small details for the eye everywhere - but at no time was it kitchy or over the top cutesy.

Food - excellent; Breakfast: quiche, homemade blintzes with local blueberries, cinnamon rolls; cookies and tea in the afternoon. Port and sherry set out for you at night. The owners were just the right combination of friendly and helpful, unpretentious, and not overbearing. They had a goofy and lovable german shepherd - which for us was a definite plus, as we were missing our dog. But they kept him away at mealtimes - and made sure he didn't disturb anyone that didn't want to be around a dog.

We met other guests - who had been coming back to this same place for years and years, and from as far away as Texas and Georgia. I will definitely be one of those return guests as I'm already hoping to go back next summer and stay longer.

FYI - East Boothbay is quiet, peaceful and rustic. Boothbay Harbor - a 10 minute drive away - is very charming, a bit more touristy (but really - not too much so), and has the shops, boat cruises, restaurants. By staying in East Boothbay we got the best of both worlds.

I've been to many B&Bs - this was by far the best..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flamencodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Five Gables on the way to Acadia National Park and had a great experience. Steve greeted us when we parked, he was outside trimming shrubbery. He walked us to our room and gave us a quick tour of the building. Our room was lovely, clean, bright and comfortable with lots of windows to let in light. The building has a great porch that is used for breakfast seating, weather permitting, and by guests in the evening. Fortunately the porch "closes" at 9 at night and reopens at 9 in the morning, so the noise from guests won't disturb you if you have a room that faces the porch as ours did. Breakfast was great, Susan is a very good cook and I LOVED her use of fresh and candied ginger in many of the items. We ate more than our fill. The location was good too, with a great little general store in walking distance up the street. It was quiet and peaceful, a far cry from the hubbub at Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After 15 or 16 years of starting each season with Mike and Di Kennedy we missed opening weekend with new owners .
A spontaneous trip up to Boothbay allowed us to meet Steve and Susan and Five. Gables
It was a delightful visit. Susan prepared a wonderful breakfast and it was much like coming home again.
Five. Gables, perched looking out over Liniken Bay is a relaxing beautiful place to enjoy a bountiful serving of Maine, the way life should be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cottagewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent eight nights at Five Gables Inn and could not of been more pleased with the experience. It's a great, central, quiet location for exploring the Boothbay Region. Susan and Steve are fantastic hosts — service was excellent, the breakfast buffet beautifully done and thoughtfully prepared not to mention scrumptious. This was consistently the best breakfast we've had in any B&B or inn and we've stayed in many. There's are artistry and energy needed to pull off running an inn well with both a professional but personal touch and this is in abundance at the Five Gables Inn.

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view. Front rooms and rooms on the upper floors provide awesome views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCJKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The breakfasts were among the best I have had anywhere, and the host has the perfect personality for running a B&B. The location is a couple miles away from the heart of Boothbay, and as a result is very peaceful.

Very enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 14 which was very spacious, had a great view, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkschund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are picky people and often places reviewed are not as they read....but this Inn is wonderful.
The breakfast offers multiple choices and is a real treat....and the coffee is delicious and ready at 6:30am! Cookies and tea out in the afternoon....they were yummy, Bonnie! Rooms are newly re-decorated and very lovely as is the rest of the Inn.
Thank you Susan and Steve for your hospitality....the best to you in your new endeavor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
1.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
6 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#3 of 3 in East Boothbay
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn

Address: 107 Murray Hill Road, PO Box 335, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range: $167 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking with the blissful feeling that your room resembles a Maine cottage overlooking a picturesque bay. Scenic and Serene East Boothbay is a 200 year old village just 5 minutes from Boothbay Harbor, Maine, though you will feel light years away. Here we enjoy peaceful mornings on the inns porch, no traffic passing by, and a view of the lobster boats bobbing in the harbor. Yet a short five minute drive puts you in the middle of Boothbay Harbor with windjammers, trips to Monhegan Island, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, lobster eating, galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Gables Inn Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing