We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find!”

Spencer's Bakery and Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
northern california
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

On a road trip and looking for breakfast, we stumbled on this!! Cute little friendly place filled with the locals! Had a great breakfast and got donuts for our late morning snack!! lol Would definitly go back if ever in the area again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank zimms4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downhill”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spencers has gone downhill fast. The waitstaff is inexperienced and has been known to chuck things across the restaurant to the garbage receptacles. The turnover rate for employees is ridiculous and I was told that the owners new girlfriend gets a rise from firing people. The food is a hit or miss depending on who is cooking and often comes out as a miss. You are no longer greeted when you come in nor spoken too when you leave.
The food is often not hot and on Sundays they now have loud guitar music playing s o you cant enjoy your breakfast. They change their hours constantly and will not serve you if you are even 2 minutes past their closing time; even if the place is full. They close up the bakery 15 minutes before they close and put plastic over the fresh baked goods. Not appealing at all.
I say Spencer's will be gone before next spring.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CINO266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great little cafe had bgreat little cafe”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

hadbreakfast twice and dinner one night very good value...fried food not greasy. and yumy bakery items too very clean we will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cljjfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The food was Marvelous!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the fresh breakfast and relaxed atmosphere! Everything tasted fantastic...I will go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great little bakery in a small town”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spencers bakery is a great little breakfast place. I say breakfast because they close at 11:00 everyday. Everything is made fresh. The breads, pastries, whoopie pies, etc... all made in house. We ordered omelets when we were there. We were shocked when we found out the mushrooms were fresh, the tomatoes were fresh and even the baby spinach was fresh. Would not have expected it. It's a little hole in the wall kinda place. Nothing fancy but really good fresh food. Eat local!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sp8graphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencer's Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Dover Foxcroft, ME
Dover Foxcroft, ME
 

Been to Spencer's Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing