We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bear's Den
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Kineo View Lodge(Greenville)(Great Value!)
$108
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaan Motel(Canaan)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western White House Inn(Bangor)(Great Value!)
$118
$104
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bangor)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
4
6
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
6
5
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 19 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

They have a restaurant on site that is our favorite place to go for breakfast when we come up that way. The service is always very friendly, the food is good, and overall the atmosphere is cozy. Maybe not the best place in the world, but certainly good for a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I was in town for business and it was most convenient for me to spend the night in Dover-Foxcroft. The Bear's Den Log Cabins was the only nearby motel available in the winter months so I stayed there. A waitress in the adjoining restaurant checked me in (apparently there is no "office" for the motel). The cabin was clean and attractive in a campy way but, being here on business, I was dismayed that the wi-fi was snail-slow and there was neither a desk nor a CHAIR (!) in the room. I had to set my computer up on the luggage stand and sit on the really uncomfortable futon/couch to do my online work. I'm guessing that most of the winter clientele are snowmobilers and that they may be hard on chairs or something. This would be a great motel for hikers, fishermen, hunters and snowmobilers but not so much for business travelers. The room has a full size bed, a futon, and an upper bunk so it can accommodate 3-4 people for sleeping. There is an outdoor pool that was obviously unavailable in January. The shower, flat-screen TV and the heat work great! If you need chain hotel facilities, keep going until you get to Bangor.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank jemetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Based on the website and reviews we found on YAHOO we were expecting a quaint, rustic New England setting. Not quite!--unless you count downtown Dover Foxcroft as "rural" and no one could call it quaint! Granted, we could have used Google Earth to take a peak before we booked the room.

As another reviewer pointed out, finding where to check into the hotel was an adventure. For those of you who de rent a room at the Bear's Den, be warned--the office is at the back of the hotel. To get there, you have to open the chain link door to the pool area.

We should have known we were in trouble when the young lady who checked us in wanted payment before we saw the room/cabin.

When we entered the room my husband noticed an odor....They must have fumigated the room within an hour or two of our arrival. Withing 15 minutes, we both had headaches. Granted, the wondows opened so we could air our cabin out ourselves...

As another reviewer pointed out, the Bear's Den is lacking basic amenities--like a chair in which to sit. There is no daily chambermaid service so if you want an extra towel, be prepared to hunt it down yourself. If you want a clean towel, you may want to bring one from home. Or, if you want the trash dumped, better be prepared to take your one small trash can to McDonald's or the gas station to empty it there.

Now, for what was right with the room. No it was not clean--finding spider webs, hair in towels, and dust that could be written on is not my definition of clean. However, it did have a great--forceful--shower. The TV worked and so did internet access.

We rented the room because we wanted to go hiking in the area. So, for us, the location was perfect. The staff was friendly--at least the girls who checked us in was friendly.

All in all, I probably would not recommend a stay at the Bear's Den. Howevier, for some reviewer ths was the perfect place to stay. So, whatever floats your boat..... but we will avoid bear's in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohpoohx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The Bears Den is located directly on the ITS 82 snowmobile trail for year round fun! The pool is closed in the fall and winter months due to Maine being a cold weather state. The cabins have all the accomidations including a full bath. refrigerator and color tv with cable. Fullsize bed and a futon that pulls out to a fullsize bed as well. Wireless internet available in every room. The cabins are fenced and gated in for extra security to the guests. Reasonable prices and good food in the restaurant. Helpful staff. Fun safe tavern with live music. The positives go on and on!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Based upon the Bear's Den website I was expecting some little cabins in a Maine woodland setting. We were not happy to discover that the cabins were set in an industrial section of Dover-Foxcroft, and were surrounded only by a bare, muddy gravel parking lot. Discovering how to get to the office was the second problem; it is separated from the cabins by a chain link fence. We finally entered the restaurant and were taken through the tavern to the office in the back.

The rooms themselves are a cute idea, but poorly executed. We were pleased to see, after the unpleasant outside, that the room was clean and well-kept. However it was lacking many things that make for a comfortable stay, such as no place to sit down except for the bed, no place to hang clothes except a row of Shaker pegs on the wall and no table or desk. Indeed, there was only one suitcase stand, our other bags had to sit on the floor. There was no phone in the room. As we walked into the bathroom the floor creaked noisily. The bathroom was small with a small shower stall. There was no place in the bathroom to set down our toiletries. All the fixtures worked ok and were clean. The linens were clean. We asked about doing laundry but were told that they had to close the laundry room because it was being abused. The swimming pool was covered with a tarp when we were there.

Somehow they had the room assigned to us for only one night even though we originally had made reservations for two. It were happy to shorten our stay but it took quite a few minutes to get the bill sorted out. The price included a breakfast at the adjoining restaurant but it amounted to one egg, one piece of toast and coffee, or $2 off any other breakfast item.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews