We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 4th in Dexter”
Review of The Brewster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brewster Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dexter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“July 4th in Dexter”
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We have been frequent guests at the Brewster Inn for 10 years. Our family has a house on the nearby lake and the Inn is very convenient, welcoming and comfortable. We were very pleased to see Judith and Mark restore some of the historic features and memorabilia. Additionally, they are doing a great job refurbishing the rooms and the Inn. The exterior has new paint, the gardens are coming along nicely and Judith and Mark have shared with us their plans to redecorate each guest room. If you enjoy friendly honest people, who actually take the time to get to know their guests, this is the place for you!! Relaxing in the morning with a cup of tea and a nice breakfast chatting with Inn owners is one of our favorite parts of our stay. We look forward to our next visit!!

Thank you Judith and Mark!

  • Liked — Clean neat rooms & friendly Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FoleyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    63
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
109
217
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We chose the Brewster Inn from an Internet search and comparative prices for similar amenities at other central Maine BnBs. We found the prices to be significantly cheaper than other establishments that were closer to the coast. We felt the central state location of the Brewster would be conducive to a week-long trip where we wanted to see Acadia National Park, the Maine coastline, AND the mountains. We were not disappointed. Mark and Judith were extremely hospitable hosts and the Inn was very comfortable and cozy despite the ongoing activities of maintaining a historical property. We stayed in the Game Room and were very pleased with everything about the stay. Our hosts bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Each morning's breakfast was tasty and abundant. Not only will we stay there again, we will be recommending it to whomever we meet that might be interested in a vacation in Maine.

  • Liked — Hospitality of the owners was absolutely fabulous
  • Disliked — Dining is hard to find on Sunday and Monday evenings.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rihintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I stayed at this"fine" establishment and found it substantially lacking. The room was cheaply decorated and furnished (nothing like hanging decor with push tacks), The towels and sheets were mismatched and shabby and the advertised "jacuzzi" tub was too small to do anything other than Shower in.

The view (of the garbage bins out back) was pathetic. The derelict house across the street did nothing to contribute to the "ambiance" - which I was paying an awful lot of money for! The next door "neighbors" consisted of a run down apartment dwelling blasting heavy metal. The lawns/exterior were unkempt and run down.

There were NO amenities Whatsoever (not even so much as a soda machine) so I advise you to bring your own drinks in case of thirst in the middle of the night.

The food - hmmm well people make fun of British cuisine for a reason. Not much was on offer and what there was - was just standard hotel fare -

The "staff" I found lacking in the Customer service department however, if people enjoy smarmy then you are at the right place. Nothing like being questioned as to what time you will be going to bed - because you will be keeping the management up! (I thought that was YOUR job?)

Personally I think the website/advertisement of this inn are deceitful and misleading. Even the rates advertised online were a sham! We paid over $150 to stay in what I would have classed a 2 star (if that) establishment in a small town which rolled its sidewalks up at 8pm!

Having travelled extensively in Maine I can honestly tell you - give this one a pass - there are much nicer places to stay just a little bit up the road. Even establishments in Beautiful Greenville/Moosehead area don't charge what this place does and you get a lot more for your money.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Pretty much everything.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thetruthster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Brewster Inn for two nights and we would definitely return if we are ever in the area again. We were on a tour of Maine, and were staying in Dexter on either side of a day hike in Gulf Hagas. This was the nicest place to stay in the area that we could find online. At first it seemed like they only had the first night available for us, but Mark and Judith went out of their way to allow us to stay both nights in the Brewster Inn (switching rooms). We enjoyed talking with Mark and Judith, learning about the history of the house, and their ongoing efforts to improve this historic house. There was a nice common sitting room and a dining room for their continental breakfast. The breakfast was very nice, with the usual coffee, tea, breads, plus fruit, home-baked goods, and a different hot dish each morning. We also took advantage of their DVD rental and wine by the glass, which were nice features since there isn't much to do in Dexter at night! Both rooms we stayed in were clean, spacious, and well furnished. The honeymoon suite was very large, and included a jacuzzi. The only thing weird about the room was an inconvenient placement of the light switches in the bathroom.

It's too bad the previous poster didn't like the "Kitchen Suites." I didn't see them, and I didn't notice them when I made our reservations. Given the work they've put in on the main house, I expect that Mark and Judith will bring them up to the level of the main house as soon as they can.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ely29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Our stay at the Brewster Inn was a wonderful experience. Having been a resident of Dexter 40 years ago, I never knew the history or the charm of what was then, Senator Brewster’s home. Staying with Mark and Judith, the owners of the Brewster Inn, was like staying with best friends, who not only took care of you at the inn, but kept abreast of all area activities and could help you with things to do and interesting places to visit. Staying with Mark and Judith was the best homecoming I can remember in years.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Alabama306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstead, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Our experience at the Brewster Inn was one that cannot be described in words. I encourage all to come and visit this small town and take in one of New England's finest in comfort, history and hospitality. We were treated like family and felt welcome from the moment we rang the doorbell. Our stay here was unexpected, however they welcomed us with open arms and treated us as if we were returning guests. We cannot say enough to express our gratitude and enjoyment; we had a very difficult time leaving!

  • Liked — the hospitatlity
  • Disliked — the surrounding town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meaganedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dexter
17.2 mi away
Pittsfield Motor Inn
Pittsfield Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Pittsfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
14.8 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Mill Inn and Cafe
The Mill Inn and Cafe
#1 of 4 in Dover Foxcroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Canaan Motel
Canaan Motel
#1 of 1 in Canaan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Brewster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Property: The Brewster Inn
Address: 37 Zions Hill Rd, Dexter, ME 04930
Location: United States > Maine > Dexter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dexter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brewster Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“A touch of England brought to Maine” courtesy of your English host Mark Stephens. A romantic, friendly, incredibly comfortable National Register bed and breakfast located in Dexter, Maine which is just 15 minutes off I95 and 45 minute drive to the Maine coastline, Bangor and the beautiful, scenic Moosehead Lake and Mount Katahdin region of Maine. My knowledge of the area and things to do and see is excellent. Whether you want to go moose watching, white water rafting, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, fishing, wildlife watching, snowmobiling, ATV’s, ski-ing, apple picking, antiquing, whatever you want to do, just tell me and I will know the best places to be, things to see and the right people to contact. It’s all about giving my guests the best experience possible in my part of Maine. Stay for a night or maybe a few nights, unpack, treat the Brewster Inn like home, come and go as you please and have a great time. Room prices inc breakfast, Wi-Fi, really comfortable beds, flat panel TV’s. Each guestroom has its own bathroom; some guestrooms have a fridge, microwave or fireplace. The Honeymoon Suite has a large 2 person whirlpool. The Brewster Inn is a former Maine Governor and Government Senators family home and it’s a great place to stay. Have a read of the reviews to see what other guests say. I always try incredibly hard to give every guest that walks through my door, the best stay ever ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Inn Dexter, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing