We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic time”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Aislaby, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
helentoul...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic time”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just felt I had to let everyone know what a fantastic hidden gem beech Hill manor is.
17 female friends visited a couple of weekends ago for my hen party
To be honest we fully intended to just sleep in the accommodation but it was so beautiful peaceful and relaxing we stayed in the property and it's spectacular grounds far more than we had expected to.
The manor was amazing !!!!
Richard the owner was very welcoming and very helpful nothing was to much trouble.
I came home knowing that I will definitely be revisiting this beautiful place again with my soon to be husband, our grown up families and grandchildren who will love to play in the grounds on the swings and the bbq area will get well used on that trip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT RELAXED FUN STAY!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

visited from 22nd Oct - 28th Oct 2016 with family 11 altogether,
EXTREMELY NICE house with PLENTY of room, comfy beds warm heating and gerogeous surroundings!!! beautiful gardens and PEACEFUL too.
Mary was Lovely made sure we were all settled and had what we needed, getting oxygen delivered for mum was no problem, the house is lovely and clean and enough sleeping space for the 17 capacity, with plenty of rooms, nooks to go for peace or to read, we were all walm enough with the heating and brilliant fires, the kitchen was EXTREMELEY well equipped for large numbers, theres plenty to do in Whitby just a stones throw from the front door, lovely walks, wildlife and places to eat ( we recommend the STABLES just down the road!)
We had an amazing trip I've never seen my family so relaxed!!!
cant wait to come back thanks beech hill!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and comfort
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elanleane...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here beginning of December for my husband's 70 th birthday, booked by my daughter as a surprise.There were 5 couples and 5 children comprising of our 4 daughters and their spouses. I'll start with the positives,
Great location
Beautiful old house
Beautifully decorated for Christmas with a big tree in the hallway.
Clean beds
Great views
Impressive dining room.
Friendly owner called Mary who greeted us initially as my husband and I were 1st to arrive about 4.30.
NEGATIVES
As soon as we entered the house there was a strong smell of fuel, were told that they'd had some problems with the boiler and the aga and that the smell would disperse by the following morning, said her husband was up till 1 in the morning that day trying to fix it. She showed us round the rest of the house.
Radiator in twin bedded not working, small electric heater instead.
Radiator in double bedroom (7ft bed) not working,
Had arranged before hand re cot for our 3mth old granddaughter, (as advised on website) couldn't see one, was told there were 2 travel cots under the bed in the double room where the radiator did not work.
My husband and I had to take the small twin room downstairs (bearing in mind it was his birthday) as myself being the shortest at 5ft 1in , one of the beds in this room was just long enough for me, my feet touched the wardrobe if I laid flat on my back. This room really only suitable for children so in effect house sleeps 4 couples and their young children/ teenagers at a push.
Owner said she would inform her husband re radiator in double room and would be along later to try and fix it. ( we took the heater from the twin bedded up as this was the room the baby was in).
Was supposed to return with linen for the travel cot and a tablecloth for the large table in the dining room, never appeared.
Saturday, preparing the birthday meal, one son in law went for a bath with the baby, suddenly water started pouring from the ceiling into the kitchen, there was a crack in the ceiling to begin with. A daughter rang the gentleman owner's phone as we were afraid the ceiling would collapse, reply was, won't collapse as I've fixed it! Unable to have a bath in this after.
Many of the kitchen trays and pans we had to wash before use, crockery was clean. Kitchen cupboards were generally a bit messy( with exception of crockery cupboards) could do with a good clean.
There was a piece of wood fixed to the back of the sink behind the taps which was beginning to discolor and every time the tap was on water seemed to leak from underneath, very unhygienic.
As previously mentioned in a couple of other reviews, the house could do with a good clean, I think it's very hard for the lady to keep up with this on her own.
Were also told not to bother with the tv's as previous people kept moving monitors and boxes, and probably would not work, this should have been addressed before we arrived.
Could go on , but to numerous to mention,
What spoilt the whole week end was the smell of fuel, which worsened Sunday night, most of our party left on the Sunday, my husband, daughter, baby and myself left on Monday morning.
I looked for the owners , nobody about, my husband rang the owner's mobile and left a message, stating just a courtesy call before we leave and he did state that the week end was spoilt due to the strong smell of fuel. Half way home we received a call from the gentleman owner, in which he stated it should be fixed for the following wk end for a big party that have been coming for years, my husband did say, well that does not help us, we felt that they had ample time to fix this before we arrived as the lady said that there was nobody in the house at least a week before we came.
My daughter on her return that day, contacted Sykes to inform them of the problems we'd had and that was not all as advertised.
That evening my husband received a call from the gentleman owner, who was a bit "shirty" in his attitude, stating, why had we left negative feed back with Sykes, and we hadn't got the guts to leave comments in the visitors book, To be truthful the visitor book was the last thing on our minds trying to fit everything in the car of baby stuff and to leave the house in reasonable state. We stripped all the beds as we were asked to do( I don't really think that we should be having to do this) as the lady said it saves her about an hour and a half if we did this.
Was also told that we had cracked a window in the lounge, ??? We hardly spent any time in there, we sat on the Sat. evening when the children were in bed.
Shame, such a lovely house, looks tired, needs modernizing esp. the kitchen.
Gave it 3 stars for location and potential.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay at Beech Hill Manor. Following your feedback the owners have ensured the oil fired Aga is in working order and checked the radiators. They have confirmed there is sufficient heating throughout the property. The travel cots are available in the property for guests to use if required. We have also updated the description to make it clear about the size of the single twin beds on the ground floor. The owners take pride in their property and periodically carry out deep cleans and regular maintenance. We hope that you will book with Sykes Cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAC6
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent big family xmas celebration at Beech Hill - our 9th year”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After Nine years of staying at Beech Hill (and the Tower Cottage and West Wing!) we will be going back next year. We are an extended family of around 30 and have yet to find a reason to look elsewhere. Cooking for 30 over three days is a challenge but by using 2 of the 3 well equipped kitchens (over all the properties) everything has worked very smoothly. The only thing that holds us back from giving 5 stars is, as always with properties of this nature, a little further updating would be the icing on the cake… Having chatted to the owners last year we noticed this year a good level of updating on furniture which enabled us to seat 28 round the extended tables in the dining room making for a perfect family atmosphere. Good Wi-fi added this year - a real plus. Overall - perfect for our event and frankly pretty good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Flexibility of accommodation - both sleeping and for the day time
Liked least: nothing worthy of mention
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigiband
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“beech hill manor is perfect”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

had a fantastic holiday at the manor, stunning views, brilliant location for walking or driving. new park and ride a couple of minutes drive away. The owners of the property Richard and mary are very welcoming and very helpful. the manor is a perfect place for family holidays, everybody enjoyed their holiday. would come back again and again and again. thanx Richard & Mary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the stunning views
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G J
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent venue for special family occasions or 'get togethers'.”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our Golden Wedding celebration was 12 months in the planning and the choosing of Beech Hill Manor as the venue was inspired. The owners, Richard and Mary, were most friendly and accommodating, the house was more than beautiful and grounds were superb. There were 17 in our party and all were of the opinion that Beech Hill Manor was just perfect - the children threatened to hide when it was time to go home!! We found plenty to do in the area and the local pub and eating establishments were ideal. The weather was perfect too which was a bonus.
Beech Hill Manor will long be talked about within our family. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Fulle...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyed a great weekend with family and friends”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a great weekend with my friends in this quiet corner of Yorkshire. Excellent views, and nice house which is well equipment to deal with the demands of a large group

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing