We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster dinner at a great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant

The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Deer Isle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lobster dinner at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Perfectly cooked soft shell lobster dinner special for $15. Great atmosphere. Owners are exceptionally friendly. Ask about the two cockatoos they share their lives with. Kind of hard to find. We just happened on it, but it is worth the trip. Bar was good and reasonable. Total meal with two lobster dinners, one Boston cream pie and 4 drinks was $60.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    13
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you like unique food, this is for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cockatoo is way out there, location wise. Down a dirt road and associated with a resort, it is not easy to find, and you might be inclined to turn around, as we did at first, but WAIT!!! It is worth the drive. The atmosphere is stunning. The interior is very cozy and the views of the bay are spectacular. The food is awesome. The appetisers, of which we had something similar to zuppa de clams and stuffed clams we excellent. The beef and shripm skewers were served on swords suspended from cast iron poles. Very different presentation and excellent flavor. This is a not-to-miss restaurant that is off the beaten path.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RPleines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Isle, Maine
1 review
“Thank you card from the "Greenlaw Reunion"....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great food, awesome location, wonderful staff!!! I attached the thank you card message from Greenlaw Reunion. Overall the service was excellent and very impressed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 21Kate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford,Pa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just average and pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wonderful view of the Goose Cove. Outdoor seating. But the place is not near as clean as it should be, needs a lot of maintenance; the food was just OK, and I believe a bit $$

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpmaine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Food was amazing and fresh - obviously made with passion :)
Everything was scrumptious. Full bar, local seafood, everything homemade, desserts were decadent. I look forward to my next meal there - the flavors have lingered with me all week!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant also viewed

Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Stonington, Deer Isle
 
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Stonington, Deer Isle
 

Been to The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing