We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative food; mediocre (but well-meaning) service”

The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Deer Isle
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Imaginative food; mediocre (but well-meaning) service”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It is a good thing we decided to start out with a tall pitcher of very tasty sangria because the wait for dinner---even to get the bread (which was quite tasty and wait person advised took so long because it was being freshly baked)----was incredibly long. The setting is beautiful and dining room is comfortable. We were amazed how patient all guests seemed to be as the legato pace of meal delivery occurred at every table. When finally delivered, every platter was attractive, generous of portion, and flavorful. Appetizers were, for the most part, tasty---servings of kale soup were bountiful, the coconut shrimp were very good, but the wedge salad was "deconstructed" and a peculiar amalgam of flavors. For main courses, two of us had the Shrimp Mozambique; one had Portuguese Steak, and another had the house special mussels. We all enjoyed our food but over 2 1/2 hours was too long to be considered "relaxed" and we were too tired to look at the desserts or have coffee. The quality of ingredients was very fresh, so obviously Suzen cares about creating palate pleasing cuisine. Either the kitchen needs to orchestrate better or the wait people should be more numerous or better trained. We decided our waitress must be working for the summer to defray her tuition to become an oceanographer (our fantasy) because it was obvious she was not a professional wait staff!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RedHeifer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    13
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I was hoping it would be good, but not the case.”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were staying in the lodge there and ate supper one evening. Tho the restaurant was nearly empty they reluctantly "squeezed" us in for supper. I ordered the fish with rice (not the paella) and a green salad. The salad was a generic iceberg salad with pink tomatoes (unripe). The fish was actually very good, if not a bit greasy, but the rice it laid on top of was overly greasy. The water glasses were plastic and still had price-sticker on the bottoms; my husband's meal was seafood pasta and the linguine was swimming in oily broth, the noodles overcooked. The rolls were commercial frozen rolls (somewhere a review had said homemade bread...quite the contrary). While it was edible and hot, the meal was only fair. The prices were far too high for the mediocre food, the plastic cups, the paper placemats. The service was not bad; the young inexperienced servers were trying to do a good job. There was nothing Portuguese about the food or restaurant.

It was a really bad experience for breakfast (part of the package for being a lodge guest). The meal was inedible--cold frozen waffle with artificial diet syrup (which Suzen, the manager, squeezed onto your waffle herself!!!), jello in a plastic dressing cup, cold scrambled eggs on a cold plate plopped down by Suzen herself who then disappeared, left us in the literal dark (no lights on) and left the coffee pot dry. It was so udderly bizarre. It was as if she resented lodge guests imposing in her "Portuguese restaurant" and gave them the worst breakfast possible. We ate cereal in the room or headed to Stonington the following days...for a decent breakfast.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank adelina_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible dining experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a reservation but they gave our table away. After waiting 15 minutes we finally were able to order drinks and an appetizer. The drinks came after 35 minutes. When an hour had passed we asked about the appetizer and were told they were out of what we ordered. After an hour and a half we complained to the owner who didn't care.
It was a terrible experience and there are other wonderful places in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank katrina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shoulda read the reviews FIRST”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Sad to say, nothing has changed since the reviews of last year. There was nothing Portuguese about the food, my paella, the so-called signature dish, was steamed seafood on a few tablespoons of rice. It tasted fine, but nothing like paella. The salad came with dressing in little takeout vials and my salad had canned olives on it. All this would be fine if it were billed as a seafood joint, but not at those prices. It was also creepy since we were the only people in a very large place. The view was gorgeous, maybe go there and have a glass of wine on the deck while you're looking in books for somewhere good to eat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jstockler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I dined here on Saturday night September 18th based on recommendations from the Inn I was staying at and locals who had previously been.

The menu was limited because their regular chef was not there (although Suzanne was hmmmm)....no Portuguese food per se. It was just another seafood restaurant in the State of Maine.

$40 for Paella that was cold when it came out, including the shells of the clams/mussels...so I sent it back and kept the lobster, the accompanying butter looked more like mayonaise, everything except the lobster tasted like I was at the Red Lobster...dried out from being frozen and all tasted the same. The rice was watery...I basically ate the Lobster and gave up...

With their key chef not there, I think Suzanne forgot how to cook

The only highlight of the evening was the host. He was an excellent conversationalist.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyFNashua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant also viewed

Stonington, Deer Isle
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Stonington, Deer Isle
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing