We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale's Rib Tavern

Whale's Rib Tavern
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Deer Isle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
372 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our favorite spot to dine in Deer Isle and Stonington. The ambiance is charming. The staff is well trained, informative and friendly. The food is outstanding. Not a thing we would change. We started with the perfect Caesar salad that had just the right amount of parmigiano reggiano shavings on it and the perfect flavorings on anchovies to complement the crisp romaine. I had the seafood stew which was perhaps one of the most delicious meals I've had in a very long time. The sauce consisted of a tomato base with garlic and fennel. So good! One half of a grilled lobster, clams, haddock, shrimp and scallops I believe...maybe calamari...it was deliciousness.
My husband enjoyed his rack of lamb which again was cooked to perfection!
Compliments to the chef and the owners!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellesor826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very charming location, cozy large room with enchanting view. The food was delicious and the personnel and service the best we could ask for. They change the menu often and you definitely need to make reservations. I would classify this as an A+ and the price was quite reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Back again, same great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Returned to Whale's Rib this year while in Maine after missing last year. Five different entrees...all were delicious. I had the eggplant /pasta dish...heavenly. My husband had the scallops and shrimp w/farfalle pasta with a great sauce. The rib eye and duck were also chosen...all with rave reviews. This is a lovely place with great food, comfortable atmosphere...friendly and competent service and reasonable prices. Sadly, we were too stuffed for dessert. Call early for reservations, as they fill up fast in the busy season.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious - beautiful rustic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Loved everything about it. Warm, convivial setting in a low ceilinged fireplace room just off the bar. Food was excellent as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GoToChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Whale's Rib has the loveliest owners possible and a very efficient and friendly wait staff. For me, it is the go to restaurant for a casual dinner. The eggplant/pasta meal is delicious as are the fresh mussels and house salads. They have taken the fish and chips off the menu--difficult for some people--but probably better for you!!! Pilgrim's Inn has a scenic location which is great for photographers with warm, cozy and very clean rooms in the Inn.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniegram49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale's Rib Tavern also viewed

Stonington, Deer Isle
Stonington, Deer Isle
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Whale's Rib Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing